Jump to page content Skip to navigation

Covid-19: Information regarding our concerts, more here

 
 

Music-making is a wonderful shared experience – independent of the age and training of its players. This conviction has inspired the Philharmonie Luxembourg to initiate the new amateur orchestra, L’Orchestre de la Place de l’Europe, conducted by Benjamin Schäfer. After an audition process, its 80 members aged 18 and up will meet for weekly rehearsals and give a final concert every season in the Grand Auditorium of the Philharmonie. The programme for the 2021/22 season features Antonín Dvořák’s Symphony No. 9 «From the New World».

 

Due to the current situation, the audition process will take place exclusively online. If you would like to be a member of the Orchestre de la Place de l’Europe:

 

Please film yourself (in an audition setting) playing at least one of the selected orchestral excerpts, which you can download here:

 

Only applications with an uploaded video and the form filled out completely will be considered.

Your data will be used by the team of the Orchestre de la Place de l’Europe only for the audition process.

The application deadline for the first season is 30.11.2021. The selection of members of the Orchestre de la Place de l’Europe will take place in December, after all videos have been screened. Successful candidates will be contacted during the course of December and invited to a first rehearsal, having received their parts. Starting in January, rehearsals will take place every Monday evening (except during school holidays).

We are happy to answer any questions you may have; please email us at ope@philharmonie.lu.

Get your bows, mouthpieces and mallets ready and let your love for music guide you!

Benjamin Schäfer, music director

 
  • Biography

    Born in Saarbrücken in 1985, Benjamin Schäfer took up the position of solo timpanist and percussionist in the Orchestre Philharmonique du Luxembourg at the age of only 22. In addition, he regularly plays as a guest in the Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks, the radio orchestras of the Norddeutscher Rundfunk, the Saarländischer Rundfunk, the Dresdner Philharmonie, the Gürzenich Orchester Köln and the Staatsorchester Saarbrücken. After graduating from high school, he studied orchestral music at the Musikhochschule Trossingen with Franz Lang (SWR Symphonieorchester) and Guido Rückel (Münchner Philharmoniker). During his studies he was a timpanist in renowned youth orchestras such as the Bundesjugendorchester, the Junge Deutsche Philharmonie, the European Union Youth Orchestra and the Gustav Mahler Jugendorchester. For several years he has devoted himself intensively to conducting. He is the conductor of the brass ensemble of the Orchester Philharmonique du Luxembourg and regularly takes part in competitions and master classes, among others at Jukka-Pekka Saraste, Esa-Pekka Salonen, Sakari Oramo and Jorma Panula. In 2018 he was a semi-finalist at the 7th Jorma Panula International Conducting Competition in Finland. He is also Prizewinner of the 2nd International Conducting Competition in Bucharest, where he won the Audience Award and the Special Talent Award.

Zum Seiteninhalt springen Zur Navigation springen

Covid-19: Wichtige Informationen zu unseren Konzerten, weitere Infos

 
 

Musik lebt von Gemeinsamkeit – ganz unabhängig von Alter und Ausbildungsstand ihrer Interpreten. Aus dieser Überzeugung heraus möchte die Philharmonie Luxembourg das neue Amateurorchester Orchestre de la Place de l’Europe ins Leben rufen, das von Benjamin Schäfer geleitet werden wird. Nach einem Auswahlverfahren werden sich die 80 Mitglieder, die über 18 Jahre alt sein sollen, zu wöchentlichen Proben zusammenfinden und pro Saison ein Abschlusskonzert im Grand Auditorium der Philharmonie spielen. In der Saison 2021/22 steht Antonín Dvořáks eindrucksvolle Neunte Symphonie «Aus der Neuen Welt» auf dem Programm.

 

Aufgrund der aktuellen Situation findet der Auswahlprozess ausschließlich online statt. Wenn Sie gern Mitglied des Orchestre de la Place de l‘Europe werden möchten:  

 

Das Spiel wenigstens eines dieser Ausschnitte oder eines anderen Stückes Ihrer Wahl sollten Sie im Video dokumentieren und uns über Internet zukommen lassen:

 

Nur Bewerbungen mit hochgeladenem Video und vollständig ausgefülltem Formular können berücksichtigt werden.

Ihre Daten werden ausschließlich für den Auswahlprozess vom Team des Orchestre de la Place de l’Europe verwendet.

Bewerbungsschluss für die erste Saison ist der 30.11.2021. Die Auswahl der Mitglieder des Orchestre de la Place de l’Europe wird im Dezember nach Sichtung der Videos erfolgen. Angenommene Kandidaten werden im Laufe des Monats Dezember kontaktiert und nach Zusendung der Stimmen zu einer ersten Probe eingeladen. Ab Januar werden die Proben immer montags (außer in den Schulferien) stattfinden.

Gern beantworten wir Ihre Fragen per E-Mail unter folgender Adresse ope@philharmonie.lu.

Halten Sie Ihre Bögen, Mundstücke, Schalltrichter und Schlägel bereit, und lassen Sie sich von Ihrer Liebe zur Musik leiten!

Benjamin Schäfer, Leitung

 
  • Biografie

    Geboren 1985 in Saarbrücken, trat Benjamin Schäfer mit nur 22 Jahren die Stelle des Solo-Paukers/Schlagzeugers im Orchestre Philharmonique du Luxembourg an. Darüber hinaus spielt er regelmäßig als Gast im Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks, den Rundfunkorchestern des NDR, SR, der Dresdner Philharmonie, im Gürzenich Orchester Köln sowie im Staatsorchester Saarbrücken. Nach dem Abitur studierte er an der Musikhochschule Trossingen bei Franz Lang (SWR Symphonieorchester) und Guido Rückel (Münchner Philharmoniker) Orchestermusik. Während seines Studiums war er Pauker in renommierten Jugendorchestern wie Bundesjugendorchester, Junge Deutsche Philharmonie, European Union Youth Orchestra und Gustav Mahler Jugendorchester. Seit einigen Jahren widmet er sich intensiv dem Dirigieren. Er ist Leiter des Blechblasensembles des Orchestre Philharmonique du Luxembourg und nimmt regelmäßig an Wettbewerben und Meisterklassen u. a. bei Jukka-Pekka Saraste, Esa-Pekka Salonen, Sakari Oramo und Jorma Panula teil. 2018 war er Halbfinalist beim 7. Internationalen Jorma Panula-Dirigentenwettbewerb in Finnland. Er ist außerdem Preisträger des 2. internationalen Dirigentenwettbewerbs Bukarest, bei dem er den Publikumspreis und den Special Talent Award gewann.