Jump to page content Skip to navigation
Orchestre Philharmonique du Luxembourg
 

Orchestre Philharmonique du Luxembourg

Gustavo Gimeno, Music Director

The orchestra of the Grand Duchy, the Orchestre Philharmonique du Luxembourg (OPL), represents a very dynamic part of the culture of its country. Since its brilliant debut in 1933 under the aegis of Radio Luxembourg (RTL), the orchestra has performed all over Europe. Publicly administered since 1996, the OPL has since 2005 been resident at the Philharmonie Luxembourg, one of the most prestigious concert halls in Europe.

The acoustics of its residence, praised by great orchestras, conductors, and soloists from all over the world, its long-standing relationships with renowned halls and festivals, as well as its close collaboration with first-rate musical personalities, have contributed to making the OPL an orchestra renowned for the elegance of its sound. Its standing has been confirmed by an impressive list of awards received for different recordings: Grammy Award, Grand Prix Charles Cros, ­Preis der deutschen Schallplattenkritik, BBC Music Choice, as well as, on several occasions, Diapason d’Or, Choc du Monde de la Musique along with many others.

Diversity

In Gustavo Gimeno’s fourth season as Music Director (following Henri Pensis, Carl Melles, Louis de Froment, Leopold Hager, David Shallon, Bramwell Tovey, and Emmanuel Krivine), there is a particular emphasis on the scope of repertoire ranging from Bach, Haydn, Verdi, Tchaikovsky and Sibelius to Schönberg, Dutilleux and Verunelli. A recording collaboration with the label Pentatone, that started with the release of four volumes dedicated to Bruckner, Shostakovitch, Ravel and Mahler, will be continued in 2018 with works by Stravinsky and Debussy.

The orchestra demonstrates its diversity in concert formats such as «Aventure+»  and «Lunch concerts», regular opera productions staged at the Grand Théâtre de Luxembourg, film-concerts such as «Live Cinema» in collaboration with the Cinémathèque de la Ville de Luxembourg and «Pops at the Phil» ­evenings.

Musical partnerships in the 2018/19 season include the Artists in residence at the Philharmonie Philippe Herreweghe, Brad ­Mehldau and Yuja Wang. The OPL will perform with conductors including Marc Minkowski, Dmitry Liss, Eliahu Inbal, Baldur Brönnimann, Andrew Manze, Hans-Christoph Rademann and Nikolaj Znaider, and soloists such as Leonidas Kavakos, Camilla Tilling, Vilde Frang, Katia and Marielle Labèque, Simon Keenlyside, Martin Helmchen, Martin Grubinger, Anja Harteros and Jean-Guihen Queyras.

The OPL and the Philharmonie Luxembourg share an interest in innovative educational projects for children and young people and indeed in adult education. Since 2003, the orchestra has taken on concerts and workshops for schools, children and families as well as educational DVD productions. It performs in schools and hospitals, and prepares school classes for its subscription concerts. Furthermore, it invites audiences to discover orchestral music in its «Dating+» series.

Openness

The orchestra, which consists of 98 musicians from more than 20 countries, is regularly invited to perform at music venues in Europe as well as in Asia and the USA. In 2018/19, guest performances will take the orchestra to Austria, Belgium, France, Germany, Greece, the Netherlands, Slovenia, Spain and Turkey. OPL concerts are regularly broadcast by Luxembourg radio 100,7 and internationally by the European Broadcasting Union (EBU).

The OPL is subsidised by the Ministry of Culture of the Grand Duchy and receives further support from the City of Luxembourg. Its sponsors are Banque de Luxembourg, BGL BNP Paribas, Caceis, CA Indosuez, The Leir Charitable Foundations and Mercedes. Since 2012, a cello made by Matteo Goffriller (1659–1742), known as «Le Luxembourgeois», has been placed at the OPL’s disposal by BGL BNP Paribas.

Biography

Zum Seiteninhalt springen Zur Navigation springen
Orchestre Philharmonique du Luxembourg
 

Orchestre Philharmonique du Luxembourg

Gustavo Gimeno, Chefdirigent

Das Orchestre Philharmonique du Luxembourg (OPL) verkörpert die kulturelle Lebendigkeit des Großherzogtums. Schon seit seinen glanzvollen Anfängen 1933 bei Radio Luxemburg (RTL) ist das 1996 in staatliche Trägerschaft übernommene Orchester europaweit präsent. Seit der Eröffnung der Philharmonie Luxembourg 2005 ist das OPL in einem der herausragenden Konzerthäuser Europas beheimatet.

Die von den größten Orchestern, Dirigenten und Solisten der Welt geschätzte Akustik seiner Residenz, die lange Verbundenheit mit zahl­reichen renommierten Häusern und Festivals sowie die intensive Zusammenarbeit mit bedeutenden Musikerpersönlichkeiten haben zum Ruf einer besonders eleganten Klangkultur des OPL beigetragen. Das bezeugt nicht zuletzt die Liste der Auszeichnungen für Einspielungen wie Grammy Award, BBC Music Choice, Grand Prix Charles Cros, Diapason d’Or oder Preis der deutschen Schallplattenkritik.

Vielseitigkeit

In der vierten Spielzeit unter Gustavo Gimeno als Chefdirigent – nach Henri Pensis, Carl Melles, Louis de Froment, Leopold Hager, David Shallon, Bramwell Tovey und Emmanuel Krivine – wird die Bandbreite des Repertoires besonders großgeschrieben, die von Bach bis Verunelli über Haydn, Verdi, Tschaikowsky, Sibelius, Poulenc und Dutilleux reicht. Hinzu kommt eine Reihe von Einspielungen für das Label Pentatone, die nach Aufnahmen von Werken von Bruckner, Schostakowitsch, Ravel und Mahler 2018 mit Strawinsky und Debussy fortgeführt wird. 

Vielseitig zeigt sich das OPL in Konzertformaten wie «Aventure+», «Lunch concerts», regelmäßigen Opernproduktionen am Grand Théâtre de Luxembourg, Filmkonzerten wie «Live Cinema» mit der Cinémathèque de la Ville de Luxembourg sowie «Pops at the Phil».

Zu den musikalischen Partnern 2018/19 zählen die Artists in residence Philippe Herreweghe, Brad Mehldau und Yuja Wang. Das OPL wird zudem mit Dirigenten wie Marc Minkowski, Dmitry Liss, Eliahu Inbal, Baldur Brönnimann, Andrew Manze, Hans-Christoph Rademann oder Nikolaj Znaider sowie mit Solisten wie Leonidas Kavakos, Camilla Tilling, Vilde Frang, Katia et Marielle Labèque, Simon Keenlyside, Martin Helmchen, Martin Grubinger, Anja Harteros oder Jean-Guihen Queyras konzertieren.

Zu den gemeinsamen Anliegen des OPL und der Philharmonie Luxembourg gehört die innovative Musikvermittlung für Kinder und Jugendliche mit einem umfangreichen Schul- und Workshopprogramm. Seit 2003 engagiert sich das Orchester in Schul-, Kinder- und Familienkonzerten, Workshops, DVD-Produktionen sowie Konzerten in Schulen und Krankenhäusern, bereitet Schulklassen auf den Besuch von Abonnementkonzerten vor und lädt im Zyklus «Dating+» mit Musikvermittlern zur Entdeckung von Orchestermusik ein.

Weltoffene Haltung

Das Orchester mit seinen 98 Musikern aus rund 20 Nationen ist regelmäßig in den Musikzentren Europas zu Gast ebenso wie in Asien und den USA. 2018/19 führen Tourneen das OPL nach Belgien, Deutschland, Frankreich, Griechenland, in die Niederlande, nach Österreich, Slowenien, Spanien und in die Türkei. Die Konzerte des OPL werden regelmäßig vom luxemburgischen Radio 100,7 ­über­tragen und über das Netzwerk der Euro­päischen Rundfunkunion (EBU) ausgestrahlt.

Das OPL wird subventioniert vom Kulturministerium des Großherzogtums und erhält weitere Unterstützung von der Stadt Luxemburg. Sponsoren des OPL sind Banque de Luxembourg, BGL BNP Paribas, Caceis, CA Indosuez, The Leir Charitable Foundations und Mercedes. Seit 2012 stellt BGL BNP Paribas dem OPL dankenswerterweise das Violoncello «Le Luxembourgeois» von Matteo Goffriller (1659–1742) zur Verfügung.