Jump to page content Skip to navigation

Covid-19: Information regarding our concerts, more here

 

Gustavo Gimeno, Music Director

Gustavo Gimeno is Music Director of the Orchestre Philharmonique du Luxembourg and chief conductor of the Toronto Symphony Orchestra.

Since the beginning of his tenure in 2015, Gustavo Gimeno has led the OPL in multiple concert formats in Luxembourg and performed with the orchestra at numerous leading concert halls in Europe and South America. With guest concerts in Germany, Spain and France, the OPL and Gustavo Gimeno continue their successful touring activities of past years during the 2021/22 season.

Highlights of 2021/22 include the opening concert with Diana Damrau and songs by Richard Strauss, performances of Gustav Mahler’s Symphony N° 3 with Gerhild Romberger and the Wiener Singverein as well as Giacomo Puccini’s Messa a quattro voci at the Philharmonie Luxembourg and the Théâtre des Champs-Élysées in Paris.

The classical music label Pentatone has published a series of recordings of Gustavo Gimeno with the OPL since 2017. Releases include works of Anton Bruckner, César Franck, Gustav Mahler, Maurice Ravel, Gioacchino Rossini, Dmitri Shostakovich, Igor Stravinsky, and, most recently, works by Francisco Coll, including his Violin Concerto with Patricia Kopatchinskaja, a work given its world premiere by Gimeno, her and the OPL.

In addition, Gimeno is a sought-after guest conductor throughout the world. In 2021/22 he makes his debut with the Berliner Philharmoniker and the San Francisco Symphony Orchestra and returns for concerts with the Cleveland Orchestra, the Tonkünstler-Orchester Niederösterreich as part of the Grafenegg Festival as well as the Orquesta de la Comunitat Valenciana. He has a special working relationship with the Concertgebouworkest, which he leads regularly in Amsterdam and on tour.

Gustavo Gimeno made his opera debut in 2015, conducting Vincenzo Bellini’s Norma in Valencia. In February 2022 he makes his debut at the Teatro Real in Madrid, where he conducts Sergei Prokofiev’s The Fiery Angel. In 2020 he celebrated a great success at the Gran Teatre del Liceu in Barcelona, conducting Giuseppe Verdi’s Aida. At the Grand Théâtre in Luxembourg, he has conducted the OPL in Verdi’s Simon Boccanegra and Macbeth as well as Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart’s Don Giovanni. In January 2019 he was invited to the Zurich Opera for the first time, leading Verdi’s Rigoletto.

A native of Valencia, Gustavo Gimeno began his international conducting career in 2012 – when he was a member of the Concertgebouworkest – as an assistant to Mariss Jansons. He gathered essential experience as an assistant to Bernard Haitink and Claudio Abbado, who mentored him intensely and had a lasting influence on his career in numerous ways.

 
 
photo: Marco Borggreve photo: Marco Borggreve

Zum Seiteninhalt springen Zur Navigation springen

Covid-19: Wichtige Informationen zu unseren Konzerten, weitere Infos

 

Gustavo Gimeno, Chefdirigent

Gustavo Gimeno ist Musikdirektor des Orchestre Philharmonique du Luxembourg (OPL) sowie Chefdirigent des Toronto Symphony Orchestra.

Seit Beginn seiner Amtszeit 2015 leitete Gustavo Gimeno das OPL sowohl in vielfältigen Konzertformaten in Luxemburg als auch in zahlreichen der wichtigsten Konzertsäle Europas und Südamerikas. Mit Konzerten in Deutschland, Spanien und Frankreich knüpfen Gustavo Gimeno und das OPL auch in dieser Saison an erfolgreiche Tourneen der vergangenen Spielzeiten an.

Zu den Höhepunkten der Spielzeit 2021/22 zählen die Saisoneröffnung mit Diana Damrau und Liedern von Richard Strauss, Aufführungen von Gustav Mahlers Dritter Symphonie mit Gerhild Romberger und dem Wiener Singverein sowie Giacomo Puccinis Messa a quattro voci in der Philharmonie Luxembourg und dem Pariser Théâtre des Champs-Élysées.

Beim Klassiklabel Pentatone ist seit 2017 eine Aufnahmereihe mit dem OPL erschienen. Sie beinhaltet Werke von Anton Bruckner, César Franck, Gustav Mahler, Maurice Ravel, Gioacchino Rossini, Igor Strawinsky, Dmitri Schostakowitsch und jüngst von Francisco Coll, darunter dessen Violinkonzert mit Patricia Kopatchinskaja, das Gimeno mit ihr und dem OPL uraufführte.

Darüber hinaus ist Gustavo Gimeno weltweit gefragter Gastdirigent. Er debütiert 2021/22 bei den Berliner Philharmonikern sowie dem San Francisco Symphony Orchestra und kehrt für Konzerte zum Cleveland Orchestra, dem Tonkünstler-Orchester Niederösterreich im Rahmen des Grafenegg-Festivals und zum Orquesta de la Comunitat Valenciana zurück. Eine besondere Beziehung verbindet ihn mit dem Concertgebouworkest, das er regelmäßig in Amsterdam und auf Tournee leitet.

Sein Operndebüt gab Gustavo Gimeno 2015 mit Vincenzo Bellinis Norma in Valencia. Im Februar 2022 gibt er mit Sergej Prokofjews Der feurige Engel seinen Einstand am Teatro Real in Madrid, 2020 feierte er mit Giuseppe Verdis Aida einen großen Erfolg am Gran Teatre del Liceu in Barcelona. Mit dem OPL dirigierte er im Grand Théâtre in Luxemburg bislang Verdis Simon Boccanegra wie auch Wolfgang Amadeus Mozarts Don Giovanni und Verdis Macbeth. Mit Rigoletto gab er im Januar 2019 sein Debüt an der Oper Zürich.

Geboren in Valencia, begann Gustavo Gimeno seine internationale Dirigentenkarriere 2012 – zu dieser Zeit Mitglied des Concertgebouworkest – als Assistent von Mariss Jansons. Maßgebliche Erfahrungen sammelte er zudem als Assistent von Bernard Haitink und Claudio Abbado, der ihn als Mentor intensiv förderte und in vielerlei Hinsicht prägte.

 
 
photo: Marco Borggreve photo: Marco Borggreve