Jump to page content Skip to navigation

Markus Brönnimann

Flute

Markus Brönnimann has been the Orchestre Philharmonique du Luxembourg’s principal flute since 1998. He was born in Switzerland and studied first with Günter Rumpel at the music college in Zurich and continued his studies with Michel Debost in the USA and with Renate Greiss-Armin in Karlsruhe. During this time, he was awarded the prize of the Migros-Genossenschaftsbund.

By joining the Junge Deutsche Philharmonie, Markus Brönnimann gained a first experience in orchestra playing, before being appointed as principal flute in the NDR Radiophilharmonie Hannover and the Philharmonisches Orchester Hagen/Westfalen.

A passionate chamber music musician, he is a member of the Ensemble Pyramide which has its own concert series in Zurich, and he is regularly invited to festivals all over the world. He performs regularly at the Rheingau Festival and at the Schleswig-Holstein-Musikfestival, and also further afield in China and at the Cape Classics in South Africa.

A strong wish of Markus Brönnimann is to constantly increase the repertoire of his instrument. His extensive discography reflects his versatile and open attitude towards different musical genres. By recording for example Théodore Gouvy’s serenades, he contributed to the rediscovery of these works. Contemporary music and its interpretation are also very important to him. He has, for instance, worked with composers such as Peter Eötvös, Sylvano Bussotti, Elena Firsova, Rudolf Kelterborn and Gao Ping.

Markus Brönnimann’s musical interest is not only focused on flute playing. In recent years he has arranged more than 25 works for Ensemble Pyramide including works by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, Franz Krommer, Maurice Ravel, Gabriel Pierné and Claude Debussy that have been published on CD. Furthermore he composes and sets his own texts to music.

Photo: Eric Chenal Photo: Eric Chenal

Zum Seiteninhalt springen Zur Navigation springen

Markus Brönnimann

Flöte

Markus Brönnimann ist seit 1998 Soloflötist des Orchestre Philharmonique du Luxembourg. Der gebürtige Schweizer studierte zunächst bei Günter Rumpel an der Musikhochschule Zürich. Ein Studium bei Michel Debost in den USA und bei Renate Greiss-Armin in Karlsruhe schloss sich an. Während seiner Ausbildung wurde er mit dem Studienpreis des Migros-Genossenschaftsbundes geehrt.

Erste Orchestererfahrungen sammelte Markus Brönnimann in der Jungen Deutschen Philharmonie, bevor er als Soloflötist bei der NDR Radiophilharmonie Hannover und im Philharmonischen Orchester Hagen/Westfalen engagiert wurde.

Der passionierte Kammermusiker ist Mitglied des Ensembles Pyramide, das in Zürich eine eigene Konzertreihe hat, und wird regelmäßig zu Festivals in der ganzen Welt eingeladen. Er musiziert ebenso beim Rheingau Festival und beim Schleswig-Holstein-Musikfestival wie in China oder bei den Cape Classics in Südafrika.

Der Musiker strebt danach, permanent das Repertoire für sein Instrument zu erweitern. Seine umfassende Diskographie spiegelt seine Vielseitigkeit und Offenheit. Mit seinen CD-Einspielungen trug er zur Wiederentdeckung von Werken wie den Serenaden von Théodore Gouvy bei. Auch die Auseinandersetzung mit zeitgenössischer Musik liegt ihm am Herzen. Er arbeitet namentlich mit Peter Eötvös, Sylvano Bussotti, Elena Firsova, Rudolf Kelterborn und Gao Ping.

Das musikalische Interesse von Markus Brönnimann beschränkt sich nicht auf die Flöte. In den letzten Jahren hat er für das Ensemble Pyramide mehr als 25 Werke arrangiert. Seine Bearbeitungen von Werken von Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, Franz Krommer, Maurice Ravel, Gabriel Pierné und Claude Debussy sind auf CD erschienen. Er schafft darüber hinaus Texte zu eigenen Kompositionen.

Photo: Eric Chenal Photo: Eric Chenal