Jump to page content Skip to navigation
photo: Alberto Venzago photo: Alberto Venzago
 

The cultural ambassador

Valery Gergiev is an artist in residence 2016/17, presenting Prokofiev as a symphonist and conducting the OPL for the first time.

«Sensitivity and intensity, boundless passion and wistful tenderness, fury and irony, an almost feminine gentleness and ruthless brutality are intermingled in his thoroughly idiosyncratic style, the immediacy of whose expression captivates again and again.» Words used to describe Sergey Prokofiev – for Valery Gergiev, quite simply «the greatest Russian composer».

When the above statement appeared in 1926 in a book by Leonid Sabaneyev and Oskar von Riesemann, Prokofiev had just turned 35 and his name had already been on everyone’s lips for quite some time (eleven years previously, Sabaneyev had savaged his Scythian Suite, the performance of which had been cancelled at the last minute – a painful moment for the eminent critic and a comical triumph for the unruly young composer).

In 2016, when Prokofiev would have been 125, Gergiev’s favourite Russian composer is even more present than usual in the conductor’s busy concert calendar. And given his impressive list of recordings and performances, that is saying something.

And Luxembourg audiences will also benefit from that presence in 2016/17: the Second and Sixth Symphonies are included for the first time in the Philharmonie’s programme, along with the First and Third Symphonies, the first two piano concertos, with Denis Matsuev as soloist, and a suite from the Ballet Cinderella. Make a note: one of the three Mariinsky guest concerts in November 2016 is devoted entirely to the mission of arousing the interest of Luxembourg school pupils in orchestral music – with the classic Peter and the Wolf.

In the second phase of his residency, in February 2017 with the Münchner Philharmoniker and the soloist Daniil Trifonov, Gergiev explores features shared by the French and Russian repertoires. He particularly cherishes the centuries-old cultural links between Russia and Europe – from the Debussy performances of Rachmaninov to the Italian architects who helped to shape St Petersburg to his own efforts on behalf of Mahler and of Wagner’s Ring in Russia: «I hope that people will learn history a little bit better. All people – I talk about Europeans, Americans, Russians, Asians – have to learn history. It seems that politicians know very little about history. We also have to spend more time just to make sure we know history very well, it’s important.»

Gergiev’s role as a passionate ambassador between cultures has a particular resonance in Luxembourg: he is, after all, linked with the Grand Duchy as an honorary consul. His twentieth appearance at the Philharmonie will undoubtedly contribute once more to cultural transfer – to bring his residency to a close in May 2017, Valery Gergiev conducts the Orchestre Philharmonique du Luxembourg for the first time.

Zum Seiteninhalt springen Zur Navigation springen
photo: Alberto Venzago photo: Alberto Venzago
 

Der Kulturbotschafter

Valery Gergiev wird Artist in residence 2016/17, präsentiert Prokofjew als Symphoniker und steht erstmals am Pult des OPL.

«Empfindsamkeit und Heftigkeit, maßlose Leidenschaft und träumerische Zärtlichkeit, Zorn und Ironie, eine fast feminine Weichheit und rücksichtslose Brutalität vermengen sich in seinem durchaus eigenartigen Stil, an dem immer wieder die Unmittelbarkeit des Ausdrucks fesselt.» Die Rede ist hier von Sergej Prokofjew – für Valery Gergiev schlicht «der größte russische Komponist».

Als die oben zitierten Worte 1926 in einem Buch von Leonid Sabanejew und Oskar von Riesemann erschienen, war Prokofjew gerade einmal 35 Jahre alt und doch schon längst in aller Munde (elf Jahre zuvor hatte Sabanejew seine Skythische Suite verrissen, deren Aufführung allerdings in letzter Minute abgesagt worden war… ein peinlicher Moment für den Starkritiker und ein Lacherfolg für den jungen, wilden Komponisten).

2016 wäre Prokofiev 125 Jahre alt geworden, und in Gergievs dichtem Konzertkalender findet sich sein erklärter Favorit unter den russischen Komponisten noch häufiger als sonst. Und das will bei der beeindruckenden Liste seiner bisherigen CD-Einspielungen und Aufführungen einiges heißen.

Davon kann 2016/17 auch das Publikum in Luxemburg profitieren: Die Zweite und die Sechste Symphonie stehen zum ersten Mal auf dem Philharmonie-Programm, dazu kommen die Erste und Dritte Symphonie, die beiden ersten Klavierkonzerte mit Denis Matsuev als Solist sowie eine Suite aus dem Ballett Aschenputtel. Nicht zu vergessen: Eins der drei Mariinsky-Gastkonzerte im November 2016 widmet sich ganz der Mission, Luxemburger Schülerinnen und Schüler für Orchestermusik zu begeistern – mit dem Klassiker Peter und der Wolf.

Bei der zweiten Etappe seiner Residenz, im Februar 2017 mit den Münchner Philharmonikern und Solist Daniil Trifonov, fühlt Gergiev Gemeinsamkeiten zwischen dem französischen und dem russischen Repertoire auf den Zahn. Die jahrhundertealten kulturellen Verbindungen zwischen Russland und Europa liegen ihm besonders am Herzen – vom Debussy-Interpreten Rachmaninov über die italienischen Architekten, die St. Petersburg geprägt haben, bis zu seinem Einsatz für Mahler und Wagners Ring in Russland: «Ich hoffe, dass die Menschen etwas besser Geschichte lernen. Alle Menschen – Europäer, Amerikaner, Russen, Asiaten… – müssen Geschichte lernen. Politiker scheinen davon heute wenig zu verstehen. Wir müssen mehr Zeit aufwenden, um die Geschichte wirklich zu kennen, das ist sehr wichtig.»

Gergievs Rolle als leidenschaftlicher Botschafter zwischen den Kulturen hat in Luxemburg einen ganz besonderen Touch – schließlich ist er dem Großherzogtum auch als Honorarkonsul verbunden. Sein 20. Auftritt in der Philharmonie wird garantiert zum Kulturtransfer beitragen – zum Abschluss seiner Residenz im Mai 2017 dirigiert Valery Gergiev erstmals das Orchestre Philharmonique du Luxembourg.