Jump to page content Skip to navigation

Making music for that magic moment

«When she plays, you understand music straight away,» says Gustavo Gimeno of the charismatic violinist Janine Jansen. In November 2016, audiences will be able to experience Gimeno and the OPL with Jansen, not just at the Philharmonie, but also in two concerts in her Dutch homeland. These will be followed in Luxembourg in the spring of 2017 by an appearance with the NHK Symphony Orchestra and an evening of chamber music.

«For her, music is always chamber music – she really knows the score, she always is aware of what the main part is and what happens in the accompaniment. She’s not only very intuitive and expressive, but she’s a very well-educated musician.» Gustavo Gimeno goes into raptures when he talks about Janine Jansen’s musicality. Ever since her childhood in a family of musicians, chamber music has been very important to her. The summer of 2016 sees her lead the International Chamber Music Festival in Utrecht, which she founded while still very young, for the thirteenth time. Her family is often present and a little over two years ago, her brother played then cello and her father the harpsichord at the Philharmonie.

Janine Jansen returns to us in the 2016/17 season as an Artist in residence, presenting three projects that offer full scope to her outstanding skill and creative abilities. The NHK Symphony Orchestra from Japan, a long-standing artistic partner of Jansen’s, makes its first guest appearance in Luxembourg on 1 March 2017, in her company. The Sibelius Violin Concerto is on the programme, almost as a symbol of Jansen’s growing interest in Scandinavian music.

The chamber music programme on 9 February 2017 promises some highly expressive and sensual discoveries in sound, with a special focus on early 20th-century Viennese music.

In a similar vein, the concerts with the OPL under Gustavo Gimeno include Alban Berg’s Violin Concerto, dedicated «To the memory of an angel». Jansen particularly loves the dark colouring, in a deep register, right at the start of the work: the exceptional power of the deepest string was one key reason for her choice of the 1727 «Baron Deurbroucq» Stradivarius, which has been lent to her by the Beare’s International Violin Society.

Zum Seiteninhalt springen Zur Navigation springen

Musizieren für den magischen Moment

«Wenn sie spielt, versteht man die Musik sofort», sagt Gustavo Gimeno über die charismatische Geigerin. Mit ihm und dem OPL ist Janine Jansen im November 2016 nicht nur in der Philharmonie zu erleben, sondern auch in zwei Konzerten in ihrer niederländischen Heimat. In Luxemburg folgen im Frühjahr 2017 ein Auftritt mit dem NHK Symphony Orchestra und ein Kammermusikabend.

«Für sie ist Musik immer Kammermusik – sie kennt die Partitur in- und auswendig, weiß jederzeit, wo die Hauptstimme ist, und was in der Begleitung passiert. Sie verfügt nicht nur über viel Intuition und Ausdruck, sondern ist auch eine durch und durch gebildete Musikerin.» Gustavo Gimeno kann über Janine Jansens Musikalität richtig ins Schwärmen geraten. Seit ihrer Kindheit in einer Musikerfamilie hat Kammermusik einen hohen Stellenwert für sie. Das von ihr in ganz jungen Jahren gegründete Internationaal Kamermuziek Festival in Utrecht leitet sie im Sommer 2016 bereits zum 13. Mal. Nicht selten ist dabei übrigens auch die Familie mit von der Partie; auch vor gut zwei Jahren in der Philharmonie saßen ihr Bruder am Cello und der Vater am Cembalo.

Als Artist in residence kehrt Janine Jansen in der Saison 2016/17 nach Luxemburg zurück und präsentiert drei Projekte, in denen sie ihr herausragendes handwerkliches und gestalterisches Potenzial kongenial vereinigen kann. Das NHK Symphony Orchestra ist ein langjähriger künstlerischer Partner der Musikerin. Das erste Luxemburg-Gastspiel des japanischen Orchesters am 01.03.2017 werden sie gemeinsam bestreiten. Jean Sibelius’ Violinkonzert steht dabei quasi sinnbildlich für Jansens wachsendes Interesse an skandinavischer Musik.

In höchstem Maße expressive und sinnliche Klangentdeckungen verspricht das Kammermusik-Programm am 09.02.2017 mit einem besonderen Fokus auf das musikalische Wien des frühen 20. Jahrhunderts.

Im selben Zeichen stehen auch die Konzerte an der Seite des OPL unter der Leitung von Gustavo Gimeno mit Alban Bergs Violinkonzert, «Dem Andenken eines Engels» gewidmet. Dessen dunkle Färbung im tiefen Register gleich zu Beginn hat es ihr besonders angetan: Es war nicht zuletzt die außergewöhnliche Kraft der tiefsten Saite, wegen derer sie sich für die «Baron Deurbroucq»-Stradivari von 1727 entschieden hat, die ihr von der Beare’s International Violin Society als Leihgabe überlassen wurde.