Jump to page content Skip to navigation
photo: Alfonso Salgueiro photo: Alfonso Salgueiro
 

Concerts for the 21st century

Jean-François Zygel, man of many talents, returns to the Philharmonie Luxembourg for a second year’s residency.

He has done it all: accompanied dancers, improvised for silent films, created an improvisation class at the Conservatoire de Paris to satisfy his passion for teaching, tackled a variety of musical genres, played soundtracks for videos, played concerts for little children as well as in museums, and was awarded the Victoire de la Musique Classique in 2006. He has done everything except follow the usual path for a virtuoso pianist who has come through the Conservatoire, that of playing solo recitals and concerts with orchestras. Above all, his work has included the «concerts with words», as accessible as they are educational, which have been enthralling audiences far and wide for several years now.

You see, Jean-François Zygel is interested in reinventing and reshaping the classical concert: in turning it into an event that is profoundly rooted in the 21st century and that directly connects with the audience. With this in mind, he has returned to the Philharmonie Luxembourg for the third year running to present the eagerly-awaited «Dating:» series. The programme is made up of Debussy’s celebrated La Mer, Haydn’s atypical Symphony N° 103, the first work in the history of music to begin with a prolonged timpani roll, and Mendelssohn’s refreshing «Italian» Symphony N° 4. The «Dating:» series will be followed by an improvised concert covering each of the three composers, though not exclusively.

In residence at the Philharmonie once again this season, Jean-François Zygel will present a theatrical concert in December 2016 «between heaven and earth, a journey to the land of the birds along with the world’s greatest birdsong virtuosos». Earlier, in November 2016, he will have returned to his beloved piano improvisations, for Fritz Lang’s film Siegfried (The Nibelungen), «the first blockbuster in the history of German cinema, made in 1924, just before Metropolis», he recounts. «Deriving inspiration, like Wagner, from Germanic and Scandinavian legends, the film tells the story of Siegfried, son of the king of Nederland, who forges himself a magical sword, slays a terrifying dragon, becomes invulnerable by bathing in its blood, and seizes the treasure of the dwarves, the Nibelungen…». He will thus create for the audience «music of legend and myth» on the piano.

Zum Seiteninhalt springen Zur Navigation springen
photo: Alfonso Salgueiro photo: Alfonso Salgueiro
 

Das Konzert ins 21. Jahrhundert holen

Vielfältigen Komponisten widmet sich Jean-François Zygel in seiner zweiten Saison als Artist in residence der Philharmonie Luxembourg.

All das hat er schon gemacht: Er hat Tänzer begleitet, zu Stummfilmen improvisiert, eine Improvisationsklasse am Pariser Konservatorium begründet, um seine pädagogische Ader auszuleben, sich mit vielfältigen musikalischen Genres auseinandergesetzt, in Film und Fernsehen gespielt, Konzerte für die Allerkleinsten gegeben sowie in Museen und schließlich 2006 den Victoire de la Musique classique erhalten. Alles, nur nicht das, was man eigentlich von einem am Konservatorium ausgebildeten klassischen Pianisten erwartet – nämlich, im traditionellen Sinne Konzerte als Solist mit Orchester oder Recitals zu spielen. Abgesehen natürlich von seinen «Konzerten mit Text», die – ebenso instruktiv wie mitreißend – bereits seit einigen Jahren das Publikum im französischen Sprachraum begeistern.

Auf dem Programm stehen in diesem Jahr Debussys gefeiertes La Mer, Haydns außergewöhnliche Symphonie N° 103, das erste Werk der Musikgeschichte, das mit einem ausgedehnten Paukenwirbel beginnt, und die erfrischende Vierte Symphonie, die «Italienische» von Mendelssohn. Jedes «Dating:» ist verbunden mit einer Improvisation über den jeweiligen Komponisten, doch nicht allein über diesen.

Auch in dieser Saison Artist in residence in der Philharmonie, wird Jean-François Zygel im Dezember 2016 sein Publikum im Rahmen eines szenischen Konzertes mit auf eine Reise nehmen. Zwischen Himmel und Erde geht es ins Reich der Vögel – in Begleitung der virtuosesten Meister des Vogelgesanges. Zuvor wird der Pianist im November eines seiner Steckenpferde reiten, mit der Improvisation über Fritz Langs Film Siegfried (Die Nibelungen), «den ersten Monumentalfilm im deutschen Kino, gedreht im Jahre 1924 – noch vor Metropolis», erklärt Zygel. «Wie auch Wagner inspiriert durch germanische und skandinavische Sagen und Legenden, erzählt der Film die Geschichte von Siegfried, der sich ein Zauberschwert schmiedet, einen schrecklichen Drachen besiegt und unverwundbar wird, indem er in dessen Blut badet und den Schatz der Zwerge in seinen Besitz bringt, der Nibelungen…». Am Klavier wird der Musiker auch den Klang der Mythen und Legenden entwerfen.