Jump to page content Skip to navigation

Covid-19: Information regarding our concerts, more here

Johannes Brahms - photo: Friedrich König

«Aimez-vous Brahms?»

Christoph Gaiser

The question «Aimez-vous Brahms?» – which Françoise Sagan chose as the title of her successful novel of 1959 – would be answered by most music lovers today with a decisive «Oui». Today’s concert life would be unthink­able without his orchestral works and symphonies, his chamber music and his vocal work Ein deutsches Requiem. Yet admiration and love of Brahms was not always a given, as it is today; during his lifetime, the composer was quite controversial. Prominent other composers – and even luminaries such as Tchaikovsky and Britten – are on record with decisive words of contempt. Schoenberg’s circle, however, considered Brahms a guiding star on the path to music that would draw its power and future viability only from itself.

With the exception of opera, Brahms created valid and lasting works of all genres, and throughout the 2022/23 season, a good dozen concerts at the Philharmonie invite listeners to a ­discovery, or re-discovery, of Brahms’ oeuvre. Artist in residence Sir John Eliot Gardiner will lead the Royal Concertge-bouw Orchestra in all four Brahms symphonies, demonstrating all of the many different expressive characters the symphonic form can assume in the hands of such a consummate master-composer. Gardiner also dedicates himself to Brahms’ smaller choral works with orchestral accompaniment, together with the Monteverdi Choir and the OPL. Anne-Sophie Mutter and Pablo ­Ferrández will champion Brahms’ relatively rarely-heard Double Concerto for Violin and Cello. Paavo Järvi demon­strates with the Tonhalle Orchestra Zurich how one of Brahms’ chamber music works was transformed by Arnold Schoenberg into an orchestral piece of «symphonic» heft. Those with a penchant for comparative listening can also experience the original ­version of the Piano Quartet at a «Concert-apéritif» in early October 2022. And Frank Peter Zimmermann joins Martin Helmchen in a profound survey of the sonatas of Brahms, the composer born in Hamburg who chose to live in Vienna.

Anyone still in need of arguments for learning to love Brahms might want to look up Françoise Sagan’s novel: there, attending a Brahms concert marks the turning point in the relationship between the prim Paule and her enthusiastic suitor, Simon. In this sense as in all others, Brahms can bring some «ro-mance» to all our lives.

Zum Seiteninhalt springen Zur Navigation springen

Covid-19: Wichtige Informationen zu unseren Konzerten, weitere Infos

Johannes Brahms - photo: Friedrich König

«Aimez-vous Brahms?»

Christoph Gaiser

Die Frage «Aimez-vous Brahms?» – welche Françoise Sagan einst zum Titel ihres Erfolgsbuches von 1959 erhob, werden die allermeisten Musikfreundin-nen und -freunde heute mit einem entschiedenen «Oui» (beziehungsweise «Ja») beantworten. Johannes Brahms’ Orchesterwerke und Symphonien sind heute nicht mehr aus dem Konzertleben wegzudenken, ebenso wenig seine Kammermusik und sein Vokalwerk Ein deutsches Requiem. Nicht immer war die Liebe zu Brahms so groß wie heute, zu Lebzeiten war der Komponist durchaus umstritten. Von prominenten Kollegen seiner Zunft – etwa Peter Tschaikowsky und Benjamin Britten – sind zudem recht eindeutige Worte der Geringschätzung überliefert. Dem Arnold Schönberg-Kreis galt Brahms hingegen als Leitstern auf dem Weg zu einer Musik, die ihre Kraft und Zukunftsfähigkeit ganz aus sich selbst schöpft.

Brahms hat mit Ausnahme der Oper in allen Gattungen Gültiges und ­Bleibendes geschaffen, in der Saison 2022/23 lädt ein gutes Dutzend ­Konzerte in der Philharmonie zu einer Neubegegnung bzw. Wieder­begegnung mit Brahms’ Schaffen ein. Artist in residence Sir John Eliot ­Gardiner wird am Pult des Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra alle vier Brahms-Symphonien aufführen und dabei aufzeigen, welch unterschiedlichen Ausdruckscharakter die Symphonieform annehmen kann, wenn ein vollendeter Techniker wie Brahms zu Werke geht. Zudem wird sich ­Gardiner mit dem Monteverdi Choir und dem Orchestre Philharmonique du Luxembourg den orchesterbeglei­teten, kleineren Chorwerken Brahms’ widmen. Anne-­Sophie Mutter und Pablo Ferrández brechen wiederum eine Lanze für das vergleichsweise selten gehörte Doppelkonzert für Violine und Violoncello. Paavo Järvi schließlich führt mit dem Tonhalle Orchester Zürich vor, wie eines von Brahms’ Kammer­musikwerken von Schönberg in ein Orchesterwerk von geradezu ­«symphonischem» Gewicht verwandelt worden ist. Wer gern hörend Vergleiche anstellt, kann das Klavierquartett in der Originalfassung in einem «Concert-­apéritif» erleben. Und Frank Peter Zimmermann gewährt zusammen mit Martin Helmchen einen vertieften Einblick in das Sonatenschaffen des in Hamburg geborenen Wahlwieners.

Wer jetzt noch immer Argumente sucht, warum man Brahms lieben lernen sollte, der schlägt einfach bei Françoise Sagan nach: Dort bringt der Besuch eines Brahms-Konzerts den Wendepunkt in der Beziehung zwischen der spröden Paule und dem sie heftig umwerbenden Simon. Brahms kann also auch in diesem Sinne etwas  «Romantik» in unser aller Leben bringen.