Jump to page content Skip to navigation

15.-18.12.2022 Chrëschtdag

photo: Alfonso Salgueiro

Music in Schools: Setting the Tone

The Philharmonie fills the education system with harmony in many different ways

Tatjana Mehner

Schools are always an important social topic. Charged with reflecting society and preparing students for life, schools are the subject of thousands of jokes and anecdotes, reports and philosophical theories. Beloved and feared in equal measure, and quite independently of many other social factors, they influ-ence people, opening up other possibilities, horizons, approaches other than those that one’s background might suggest. Put simply, schools convey not merely knowledge, but also social education. This has (once again) become a major, worldwide issue due to the pandemic, one from which the Philhar-monie – which has always enjoyed close collaboration with the Grand Duchy’s educational institutions – does not shy away.

Music is fun and part of a general education, and making and listening to music have effects far beyond the experience itself, fostering learning capabilities and personality development. Music is always best when experienced together… however, what happens when this communal experience has to be cur-tailed?

Despite all contact limitations and distancing rules, a broad range of education offerings has been presented in schools during the past months. Almost as in the proverb about the prophet going to the mountain, new and reconceived listening and interactive formats were delivered to real-life and virtual classrooms by digital means. The OPL Bus, for example, which toured the country on summer weekends, bringing concerts to streets and parks, also began stopping in school playgrounds on weekdays…

Streamed concerts and other digital music offerings, also part of a cooperation agreement with the Ministry of Education, Children and Youth, have become a welcome part of school curricula and will not disappear from our daily lives after the pandemic – even if the enthusiasm for communal listening experiences, both in the concert hall and in the numerous workshops and projects which OPL musicians or guest artists have brought to Luxembourg’s schools, is enormous for all those involved. Offering a comprehensive programme via all its «channels», the Philharmonie will continue its exemplary work in schools.

Zum Seiteninhalt springen Zur Navigation springen

Saison 2022/23 | Entdecken Sie unsere Abonnements

photo: Alfonso Salgueiro

Wenn Musik Schule macht…

Die Philharmonie erfüllt das Bildungssystem auf vielfältige Weise mit Wohlklang

Tatjana Mehner

Schule ist immer ein Thema in der Gesellschaft. Sie soll deren Spiegel sein und aufs Leben vorbereiten… Schule ist Gegenstand tausender Witze und Anekdoten, Erfahrungsberichte und philosophischer ­Theorien. Geliebt, gefürchtet… und absolut unabhängig von vielen anderen sozialen Einflüssen prägt sie den Menschen, eröffnet andere Möglichkeiten, Horizonte, Zugänge als das private Umfeld. Schlicht und ergreifend: Schule vermittelt nicht nur Wissen, sondern bildet auch sozial. Weltweit ist das in der Pandemie ein neues großes Thema geworden, eines, dem sich auch die Philharmonie, die von jeher intensiv mit den Bildungseinrichtungen des Groß­herzogtums zusammenarbeitet, nicht entziehen konnte.

Musik macht Spaß, gehört zur All­gemeinbildung, und Musikmachen genau wie Musikhören fördert weit über das eigentliche Erleben hinaus das Lernvermögen und die Persönlichkeitsentwicklung. Doch: Musik ist am besten, wenn man sie gemeinsam erlebt… Aber was, wenn gerade diese Gemeinschaftlichkeit einge­schränkt wird?
Allen Kontaktbeschränkungen und Distanzregeln zum Trotz ist auch innerhalb der vergangenen Monate ein breites Angebot in den Schulen angekommen. Fast wie beim Sprichwort vom Berg und dem Propheten kamen oft auf digitalem Wege neue und neugedachte Zuhör- und Mitmachformate in den tatsächlichen und virtuellen Klassenzimmern an. Der OPL-Bus, der im Sommer an den Wochenenden durchs Land fuhr und Konzerte in Straßen und Parks brachte, machte werktags auf Schulhöfen Station…

Gestreamte Konzerte und weitere digitale Musikangebote, die ebenfalls Bestandteil einer Kooperations­vereinbarung mit dem Ministerium für Bildung, Kinder und Jugend sind, haben im besten Wortsinne Schule gemacht und werden auch nach der Pandemie nicht wieder aus dem Alltag verschwinden, auch wenn die Begeisterung beim Gemeinschaftserleben im Konzertsaal, in der neuen Saison beispielsweise mit dem Jazz at Lincoln Center Orchestra im Schulkonzert, und den zahlreichen Workshops und Projekten, die Musiker aus dem OPL oder Gastkünstler in die Schulen Luxemburgs bringen, auf allen Seiten riesig ist. Mit einem umfassenden ­Programm auf allen «Kanälen» wird die Philharmonie auch ­weiterhin Schule machen.