Jump to page content Skip to navigation

how does it feel? – rainy days 2017

 

rainy days follows its feelings and invites you to join in, posing the crucial question: how does it feel?

For decades, new music has been asked whether it is losing touch. In 2017 rainy days explores the emotional landscapes of contemporary music to reveal the opposite. In concerts, installations, performances, conversations, and a conference the festival discovers the many ways in which today’s music can express, evoke, transform, exploit, or avoid emotion to touch, affect, move, or keep you at a distance. An opera for your body. The power of the voice. A composer’s loving tribute to his musicians. Dissolving sounds that become even more touching. High-charged string quartets. Evocative sounds of home. Music «freed» from subjectivity. A sonic treasure hunt for children. The entire Philharmonie transformed into a wunderkammer.

For the first time, rainy days hosts a conference dedicated to the festival topic, as well as the final concert of the Luxembourg Composition Academy, in cooperation with neimënster and United Instruments of Lucilin. Chaya Czernowin, whose new cello concerto Guardian is prominently featured at rainy days, leads the faculty. The festival is glad to continue its long partnership with Grand Théâtre and Mudam.

how does it feel presents: Adapter, EXAUDI, JACK Quartet, Klangforum Wien, Noise Watchers, l’Orchestre Philharmonique du Luxembourg, Remix Ensemble Porto, United Instruments of Lucilin, Yarn/Wire, Tomomi Adachi, Séverine Ballon, Peter Brötzmann, Susanne Elmark, Hany Heshmat, Roland Kluttig, Heather Leigh, Marc Meyers, Aniela Stoffels, Jennifer Walshe...

With premieres and new works by Wojtek Blecharz, Iván Boumans, Rick Burkhardt, Chaya Czernowin, Catherine Kontz, Catherine Lamb, Claude Lenners, Cassandra Miller, Robin Minard, Wolfgang Mitterer, Yoshiaki Onishi, Hannes Seidl, S.L.Á.T.U.R....

The rainy days festival pass and the tickets for all events of the festival are available from 02.10.2017.

Zum Seiteninhalt springen Zur Navigation springen

how does it feel? – rainy days 2017

 

Das Festival rainy days folgt seinen Gefühlen und lädt Sie ein, sich anzuschließen und die alles entscheidende Frage zu stellen: how does it feel?

Neuer Musik wird immer wieder nachgesagt, sich Gefühlen zu verweigern. 2017 erkundet rainy days die emotionalen Landschaften zeitgenössischer Musik und macht das Gegenteil spürbar. Konzerte, Installationen, Performances, Gespräche und eine Konferenz lassen entdecken, auf wie viele Arten und Weisen die Musik der Gegenwart Emotionen ausdrücken, hervorrufen, verwandeln, ausnutzen oder vermeiden kann, um Sie zu berühren, zu bewegen oder auf Distanz zu halten. Eine Oper für Ihren Körper. Die expressive Kraft der Stimme. Die Liebeserklärung eines Komponisten an seine Musiker. Klänge, die verschwinden und umso stärker berühren. Hochspannungsstreichquartette. Klänge der Heimat und der Fremde. Von Subjektivität «befreite» Musik. Eine klangliche Schatzsuche für Kinder. Die gesamte Philharmonie als Wunderkammer.

Zum ersten Mal bietet rainy days eine Konferenz zum Festivalthema. Ebenfalls erstmals präsentiert es in Kooperation mit neimënster und United Instruments of Lucilin das Abschlusskonzert der Luxembourg Composition Academy, bei der Chaya Czernowin, prominente Komponistin des Festivals, unterrichten wird. Mit Freude setzt das Festival zudem die langjährige Zusammenarbeit mit dem Grand Théâtre und dem Mudam fort.

how does it feel presents: Adapter, EXAUDI, JACK Quartet, Klangforum Wien, Noise Watchers, l’Orchestre Philharmonique du Luxembourg, Remix Ensemble Porto, United Instruments of Lucilin, Yarn/Wire, Tomomi Adachi, Séverine Ballon, Peter Brötzmann, Susanne Elmark, Hany Heshmat, Roland Kluttig, Heather Leigh, Marc Meyers, Aniela Stoffels, Jennifer Walshe...

With premieres and new works by Wojtek Blecharz, Iván Boumans, Rick Burkhardt, Chaya Czernowin, Catherine Kontz, Catherine Lamb, Claude Lenners, Cassandra Miller, Robin Minard, Wolfgang Mitterer, Yoshiaki Onishi, Hannes Seidl, S.L.Á.T.U.R....

Der Festivalpass und die Tickets für alle Festivalveranstaltungen sind ab dem 02.10.2017 erhältlich.