Jump to page content Skip to navigation

get real – rainy days 2018

 

The festival rainy days traces reality in contemporary music and flings its doors wide open to the world – «get real»!

From resonance of the spheres to propaganda tool, music has always struggled to find its place in the world around it, and this is especially true of the music of our complex present. In 2018, rainy days explores how contemporary music participates in realities beyond the concert hall: as political statement, as part of identity, as an experience of social situations, as industrial aesthetic, as personal history or by incorporating concrete sounds of everyday life through field recordings. The festival brings sound worlds outside of the Philharmonie into the concert hall, while also taking concerts to private homes and offering performative walks that enable the listener to perceive the city’s soundscapes in situ. It presents the search for an appropriate musical language to speak of the most pressing issues today, explores «third spaces» between analogue and virtual worlds and pays homage to female pioneers of electro-acoustic music who created new gender realities with their work early on.

For the second time, the festival presents the final concert of the Luxembourg Composition Academy, jointly organized with the Neumünster Abbey and United Instruments of Lucilin. rainy days happily continues its cooperation with the Grand Théâtre and the Casino. A public conference discusses the theme of the festival. After the success of the first «Wunderkammer» and «Bal contemporain», the last day of rainy days again features a five-hour mosaic of concerts and a final party.

Festival pass

Tickets & Festival passe-partout
rainy days 2018

The rainy days festival pass and the tickets for all events of the festival are available from 17.09.2018.

 

Media partner

«get real» presents:
Einstürzende Neubauten, ensemble mosaik, Ensemble Resonanz, Hiatus, Klangforum Wien, Nadar, Noise Watchers, Orchestre Philharmonique du Luxembourg, Phace, Quatuor Diotima, Synergy Vocals, United Instruments of Lucilin Baldur Brönnimann, Christina Daletska, Florian Hoelscher, Miriam Overlach, Nacho de Paz, Emilio Pomàrico, Benjamin Vandewalle, Bas Wiegers, Agata Zubel and others

Featuring premieres and works by:
Peter Ablinger, Georges Aperghis, Joanna Bailie, Micheline Coulombe Saint-Marcoux, Sivan Eldar, Evelyne Gayou, Johannes Kreidler, Genoël von Lilienstern, Ursula Mamlok, Yan Maresz, Enno Poppe, Alberto Posadas, Stefan Prins / Daniel Linehan, Éliane Radigue, Rebecca Saunders, Matthew Shlomowitz, Chris Swithinbank, Annette Vande Gorne, Francesca Verunelli and others

 

Workshop

27.10.2018 10:00 
28.10.2018 10:00
24.11.2018 10:00
25.11.2018 10:00

«rainy days Kompositionsworkshop»
Kompositionsworkshop für Kinder im Alter von 10 bis 12 Jahren (D)

Solisten des Orchestre Philharmonique du Luxembourg
Solisten des Mutare Ensembles
Gerhard Müller-Hornbach, Viviane Waschbüsch Komposition, Workshopleitung

more information

Zum Seiteninhalt springen Zur Navigation springen

get real – rainy days 2018

 

Das Festival rainy days erkundet Spuren der Wirklichkeit in der zeitgenössischen Musik und macht die Türen zur Welt weit auf – «get real»!

Zwischen Musik der Sphären und Propagandamittel – Musik hat schon immer mit ihrem Platz in der Wirklichkeit gerungen und für die Musik unserer komplexen Gegenwart gilt dies besonders. rainy days zeigt 2018, wie zeitgenössische Musik Anteil an den Realitäten außerhalb des Konzertsaals hat: als politisches Statement, als Teil von Identität, als Erfahrung von sozialen Situationen, als Industrial-Ästhetik, mit konkreten Klängen des Alltags oder durch persönliche Geschichten. Das Festival holt Wirklichkeiten und Klangwelten jenseits der Philharmonie genauso in den Konzertsaal wie Performances in Privathäuser einziehen oder performative Spaziergänge die Soundscapes der Stadt erleben lassen. Der Versuch, mit Musik eine angemessene Sprache für die heute drängendsten Fragen zu finden, gehört ebenso dazu wie «Dritte Räume» zwischen analoger und virtueller Welt oder eine Hommage an die Pionierinnen der elektroakustischen Musik, die mit ihrer Arbeit schon früh neue Genderrealitäten schufen.

Zum zweiten Mal veranstaltet das Festival gemeinsam mit der Abtei Neumünster und United Instruments of Lucilin die Luxembourg Composition Academy. Mit Freude führt es seine Zusammenarbeit mit dem Grand Théâtre und dem Casino fort. Eine öffentliche Konferenz diskutiert das Festivalthema. Und nach dem Erfolg der ersten «Wunderkammer » bietet rainy days am letzten Tag wieder ein fünfstündiges Mosaik von Konzerten.

Festivalpass

Tickets & Festival passe-partout
rainy days 2018

Der Festivalpass und die Tickets für alle Festivalveranstaltungen sind ab 17.09.2018 erhältlich.

 

Medienpartner

«get real» presents:
Einstürzende Neubauten, ensemble mosaik, Ensemble Resonanz, Hiatus, Klangforum Wien, Nadar, Noise Watchers, Orchestre Philharmonique du Luxembourg, Phace, Quatuor Diotima, Synergy Vocals, United Instruments of Lucilin Baldur Brönnimann, Christina Daletska, Florian Hoelscher, Miriam Overlach, Nacho de Paz, Emilio Pomàrico, Benjamin Vandewalle, Bas Wiegers, Agata Zubel and others

Featuring premieres and works by:
Peter Ablinger, Georges Aperghis, Joanna Bailie, Micheline Coulombe Saint-Marcoux, Sivan Eldar, Evelyne Gayou, Johannes Kreidler, Genoël von Lilienstern, Ursula Mamlok, Yan Maresz, Enno Poppe, Alberto Posadas, Stefan Prins / Daniel Linehan, Éliane Radigue, Rebecca Saunders, Matthew Shlomowitz, Chris Swithinbank, Annette Vande Gorne, Francesca Verunelli and others

 

Workshop

27.10.2018 10:00
28.10.2018 10:00
24.11.2018 10:00
25.11.2018 10:00

«rainy days Kompositionsworkshop»
Kompositionsworkshop für Kinder im Alter von 10 bis 12 Jahren (D)

Solisten des Orchestre Philharmonique du Luxembourg
Solisten des Mutare Ensembles
Gerhard Müller-Hornbach, Viviane Waschbüsch Komposition, Workshopleitung