Jump to page content Skip to navigation

Covid-19: Information regarding our concerts, more here

Gilberto Gil, Gal Costa, Nando Reis
photo: Alfonso Salgueiro

 

America, South to North

Charlotte Brouard-Tartarin

 

The autumn of 2021 brings a pair of debuts by long-established master musicians: the saxophonists Anthony Braxton and Charles Lloyd appear on stage at the Philharmonie for the first time – at the age of 76 and 83, respectively. Braxton, the grand master of free jazz and a prolific composer, brings his radical brand of creativity to the festival rainy days. Like Braxton, Lloyd has been a protagonist of jazz history since the 1960s; he now presents his spiritually inflected sound in the Grand Auditorium.

Gilberto Gil, a musical figurehead and veritable «elder statesman» of Brazilian music, returns to the Philharmonie as part of the festival atlântico. Like Caetano Veloso and Chico Buarque, he is among the central figures of Música Popular Brasileira (MPB), which developed during the 1960s under the influence of bossa nova. Nor did being forced into exile during dictatorship stop him from harnessing his art for political and social change. After his return, Gilberto Gil was even appointed the Brazilian minister of culture in Lula da Silva’s administration. This indefatigable freedom fighter has lost none of his energy, and his European tours remain eagerly- and long-awaited events.

The US-American pianist and composer Maria Schneider makes a rare appearance on this side of the Atlantic, returning to the Philharmonie on 05.02. after her last performance here in 2011. Schneider was the assistant to Gil Evans until his death in 1988. That same year she founded the ensemble known today as the Maria Schneider Orchestra. Her distinctive personal style has made her one of the most renowned composers for jazz ensembles.

Zum Seiteninhalt springen Zur Navigation springen

Covid-19: Wichtige Informationen zu unseren Konzerten, weitere Infos

Gilberto Gil, Gal Costa, Nando Reis
photo: Alfonso Salgueiro

 

Vom Süden zum Norden Amerikas

Charlotte Brouard-Tartarin

 

Der Herbst 2021 steht im Zeichen der Debüts der Altmeister: die Saxophonisten Anthony Braxton und Charles Lloyd sind erstmals auf der Bühne der Philharmonie zu erleben – im Alter von 76 bzw. 83 Jahren. Braxton bereichert als Nestor des Free Jazz und produktiver Komponist mit seiner radikalen Kreati-vität das Festival rainy days. Lloyd war wie Braxton ebenfalls bereits in den 1960er Jahren ein Protagonist der Jazzgeschichte und präsentiert nun seinen spirituell gefärbten Klang im Grand Auditorium.

Mit Gilberto Gil, einer musikalischen Gallionsfigur Brasiliens, gastiert im Rahmen des Festivals atlântico am 10.10. ein weiterer Doyen in der Philharmo-nie. Neben Caetano Veloso und Chico Buarque zählt er zu den zentralen Figuren der Música Popular Brasileira (MPB), die sich in den 1960er Jahren unter dem Einfluss der Bossa Nova entwickelte. Auch das erzwungene Exil während der Diktatur hinderte ihn nie daran, seine Kunst in den Dienst seines politischen und sozialen Engagements zu stellen. Nach seiner Rückkehr bekleidete ­Gilberto Gil sogar den Posten des Kulturministers in der Regierung von Lula da Silva. Dieser unermüdliche Freiheitskämpfer hat nichts von seiner Energie verloren und seine Tourneen in Europa bleiben lang erwartete Ereignisse.

Auf dieser Seite des Atlantiks nicht weniger rar macht sich die US-amerikanische Pianistin und Komponistin Maria Schneider, die nach ihrem ­letzten Auftritt vor elf Jahren am 05.02. in die Philharmonie zurückkehren wird. Schneider war Assistentin von Gil Evans bis zu dessen Tod 1988 und gründete in jenem Jahr ihr inzwischen als Maria Schneider Orchestra bekanntes Ensemble. Ihr ausgeprägter Personalstil macht sie heute zu einer der anerkanntesten Komponistinnen für Jazz- Ensembles.