Jump to page content Skip to navigation

Season 2022/23 | Discover our subscriptions

  • Paavo Järvi photo: Kaupo Kikkas

    Paavo Järvi

Paavo Järvi – Bruckner 8 / OPL

18.10.2019 20:00,

Grand Auditorium

add to calendar

Orchestre Philharmonique du Luxembourg
Paavo Järvi direction

Richard Strauss: Josephs Legende. Symphonisches Fragment
Anton Bruckner: Symphonie N° 8

It is hardly known that, alongside numerous operas, Richard Strauss also composed several ballets; his Josephs Legende, based on the tale from the Old Testament, celebrated its premiere in Paris in 1914 with Leonid Massine in the main role; decades later, it caught the attention of John Neumeier. In 1947 Strauss created a version for the concert hall with his Symphonic Fragment. Anton Bruckner himself called his Eighth Symphony his «enigma» and indeed, the eighty-minute work remained a mystery to many contemporary listeners, whereas today it is considered one of the crown jewels of 19th-century symphonic music.

Kulturpass, bienvenue!

Ce concert sera enregistré par radio 100.7 et retransmis en direct, puis le 13 novembre 2019.

Trier–Philharmonie Luxembourg

Bus-Shuttle for this concert:

Bus-Shuttle Logo



Regular price
  • 65
  • 45
  • 30
< 27 years
  • 39
  • 27
  • 18

Information & Billetterie,
(+352) 26 32 26 32

Has already taken place



18:15, Salle de Musique de Chambre

Film: Maestro. David Donnelly (2015) (E) 81ʼ