Jump to page content Skip to navigation

Riccardo Chailly / Emmanuel Tjeknavorian / Filarmonica della Scala

06.02.2023 20:00,

Grand Auditorium

add to calendar

Filarmonica della Scala
Riccardo Chailly direction
Emmanuel Tjeknavorian violon

Arvo Pärt: Cantus in Memoriam Benjamin Britten
Sergueï Prokofiev: Concerto pour violon et orchestre N° 1
Paul Hindemith: Bis: Sonate für Violine op. 31/2: 3. Gemächliche Viertel
Piotr Ilitch Tchaïkovski: Symphonie N° 6 «Pathétique»

In Italian, «far scala» means stopping during a journey. The expression hails from the time when disembarking from a ship meant using a ladder. On Feb. 6, the Filarmonica della Scala and Riccardo Chailly make a stop in Luxembourg, along with Emmanuel Tjeknavorian, the winner of the 2015 Sibelius Competition. However, instead of putting their feet on the ground, symbolically, they seek out musical stars in the firmament, namely Benjamin Britten (to whom Arvo Pärt pays homage in his Cantus), Piotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky with his Symphonie «Pathétique», and Sergei Prokofiev with his Violin Concerto No. 1. Joseph Szigeti once described the latter as «a mixture of fairy-tale naïveté and unbridled wildness».

Trier–Philharmonie Luxembourg

Bus-Shuttle for this concert:

Bus-Shuttle Logo



Regular price
  • 95
  • 75
  • 45
< 30 years
  • 57
  • 45
  • 27

(+352) 26 32 26 32

Kulturpass bienvenue!

Has already taken place



Sponsored by