Jump to page content Skip to navigation

Discovery Nights | 1 Guided Tour + 1 Apéro + 1 Concert

Vikingur Olafsson / Sir Antonio Pappano / Orchestra dell’Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia

04.02.2023 20:00,

Grand Auditorium

add to calendar

Orchestra dell’Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia
Sir Antonio Pappano direction
Víkingur Ólafsson piano

Sergueï Prokofiev: Symphonie N° 1 «Symphonie classique»
Maurice Ravel: Concerto en sol (Klavierkonzert G-Dur)
Béla Bartók: Bis: Trois chants hongrois de Czik Sz.35a
Jean Sibelius: Symphonie N° 5
Edward Elgar: Bis: Variation N° 9 Nimrod (Enigma Variations)

Looking backward has always been an attractive option for composers; both Sergei Prokofiev and Maurice Ravel created works paying homage to the spirit of a bygone era and the art of their predecessors. To this end, Prokofiev chose the form of the symphony, Ravel that of the virtuoso piano concerto – and in Víkingur Ólafsson, Ravel’s Concerto in G major is in the very best hands, literally. Jean Sibelius also undertook a kind of retrospective in his Symphony No. 5, which was commissioned by the Finnish State as a 50th-birthday gift for the composer.

NOTE: We regret having to inform you that the state of her health has forced Martha Argerich to cancel her participation in the concert of the Orchestra dell’Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia under Sir Antonio Pappano’s baton on Feb. 4. This also affects all other concerts of this tour. We thank Vikingur Ólafsson for his willingness to step in for Martha Argerich on short notice. The concert programme remains unchanged.
For further information, the Philharmonie’s Information & Billetterie office is available Monday to Friday from 10 am to 6:30 pm under the phone number (+352) 26 32 26 32.

Trier–Philharmonie Luxembourg

Bus-Shuttle for this concert:

Bus-Shuttle Logo



Regular price
  • 95
  • 75
  • 45
< 27 years
  • 57
  • 45
  • 27

(+352) 26 32 26 32

Kulturpass bienvenue!

Has already taken place



Sponsored by