Jump to page content Skip to navigation

Season 2022/23 | Discover our subscriptions

  • Yuja Wang photo: Norbert Kniat

    Yuja Wang
  • Mirga Gražinytė-Tyla & CBSO photo: Ben Ealovega

    Mirga Gražinytė-Tyla & CBSO

Yuja Wang / Mirga Gražinytė-Tyla / CBSO

23.05.2019 20:00,

Grand Auditorium

add to calendar

City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra
Mirga Gražinytė-Tyla direction
Yuja Wang piano

György Ligeti: Concert Românesc
Sergueï Prokofiev: Concerto pour piano et orchestre N° 5
Igor Stravinsky: L'Oiseau de feu (Der Feuervogel). Ballet

In recent years, pianist Yuja Wang has taken a special interest in Sergei Prokofiev’s Piano Concertos. On May 23 she will play the relatively rarely-heard Fifth Piano Concerto, accompanied by the City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra under its Lithuanian chief conductor Mirga Gražinyte-Tyla. There are reminiscences in the work of Igor Stravinsky’s neoclassic style, but also of ancient Russian folklore motifs. Against this background, the combination with Stravinsky’s ballet music Firebird makes particular sense. György Ligeti’s Concert Românesc was also inspired by folk music. At the time, the Romanian cultural authorities took offense at some of his dissonant stylistic means, so that the work’s premiere was cancelled and could not be performed until twenty years later.

Trier–Philharmonie Luxembourg

Bus-Shuttle for this concert:

Bus-Shuttle Logo



Regular price
  • 95
  • 75
  • 45
< 27 years
  • 57
  • 45
  • 27

(+352) 26 32 26 32

Has already taken place



19:15, Salle de Musique de Chambre

Vortrag Tatjana Mehner: «Zwischen nationaler Idee und Weltoffenheit. Musik von Ligeti, Prokofjew und Strawinsky» (D)


Sponsored by

DZ Privatbank