Jump to page content Skip to navigation

Covid-19: Information regarding our concerts, more here

 
 

Music-making is a wonderful shared experience – independent of the age and training of its players. This conviction has inspired the Philharmonie Luxembourg to initiate the new amateur orchestra, L’Orchestre de la Place de l’Europe, conducted by Benjamin Schäfer. After an audition process, its 80 members aged 18 and up will meet for weekly rehearsals and give a final concert every season in the Grand Auditorium of the Philharmonie. The programme for the 2021/22 season features Antonín Dvořák’s Symphony No. 9 «From the New World».

 

Due to the current situation, the audition process will take place exclusively online. If you would like to be a member of the Orchestre de la Place de l’Europe:

 

Please film yourself (in an audition setting) playing at least one of the selected orchestral excerpts, which you can download here:

 

Only applications with an uploaded video and the form filled out completely will be considered.

Your data will be used by the team of the Orchestre de la Place de l’Europe only for the audition process.

The application deadline for the first season is 30.11.2021. The selection of members of the Orchestre de la Place de l’Europe will take place in December, after all videos have been screened. Successful candidates will be contacted during the course of December and invited to a first rehearsal, having received their parts. Starting in January, rehearsals will take place every Monday evening (except during school holidays).

We are happy to answer any questions you may have; please email us at ope@philharmonie.lu.

Get your bows, mouthpieces and mallets ready and let your love for music guide you!

Benjamin Schäfer, music director

 
  • Biography

    Born in Saarbrücken in 1985, Benjamin Schäfer took up the position of solo timpanist and percussionist in the Orchestre Philharmonique du Luxembourg at the age of only 22. In addition, he regularly plays as a guest in the Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks, the radio orchestras of the Norddeutscher Rundfunk, the Saarländischer Rundfunk, the Dresdner Philharmonie, the Gürzenich Orchester Köln and the Staatsorchester Saarbrücken. After graduating from high school, he studied orchestral music at the Musikhochschule Trossingen with Franz Lang (SWR Symphonieorchester) and Guido Rückel (Münchner Philharmoniker). During his studies he was a timpanist in renowned youth orchestras such as the Bundesjugendorchester, the Junge Deutsche Philharmonie, the European Union Youth Orchestra and the Gustav Mahler Jugendorchester. For several years he has devoted himself intensively to conducting. He is the conductor of the brass ensemble of the Orchester Philharmonique du Luxembourg and regularly takes part in competitions and master classes, among others at Jukka-Pekka Saraste, Esa-Pekka Salonen, Sakari Oramo and Jorma Panula. In 2018 he was a semi-finalist at the 7th Jorma Panula International Conducting Competition in Finland. He is also Prizewinner of the 2nd International Conducting Competition in Bucharest, where he won the Audience Award and the Special Talent Award.

Zum Seiteninhalt springen Zur Navigation springen

Covid-19: Informations importantes par rapport à nos concerts, en savoir plus

 
 

La musique est affaire de partage, quels que soient l’âge et le niveau de ses interprètes. Fidèle à cette affirmation, la Philharmonie Luxembourg souhaite rassembler 80 musiciens amateurs de plus de 18 ans au sein du tout nouvel Orchestre de la Place de l’Europe, placé sous la direction de Benjamin Schäfer. Après sélection, ils se retrouveront chaque semaine dans une ambiance conviviale pour préparer un concert final dans le Grand Auditorium de la Philharmonie. Celui de la saison 2021/22 sera dédié à la majestueuse Symphonie N° 9 «Du Nouveau Monde» d’Antonín Dvořák.

 

La situation sanitaire actuelle nous oblige à mettre en place un processus de recrutement en ligne. Pour devenir membres de l’Orchestre de la Place de l’Europe, veuillez remplir le formulaire suivant:

 

Vous êtes invité à vous filmer, comme pour une audition en présentiel, dans au moins un des traits d’orchestre téléchargeables ci-dessous ou une pièce de votre choix, et à mettre votre vidéo en ligne. 

 

Seules seront prises en compte les candidatures regroupant une vidéo et un formulaire dûment rempli.

Les informations collectées ne seront utilisées qu’à des fins de sélection des membres, par l’équipe de direction de l’Orchestre de la Place de l’Europe exclusivement.

La date de clôture des candidatures de cette première édition est fixée au 30.11.2021. La sélection des membres de l’Orchestre de la Place de l’Europe se fera en décembre suite au visionnage des vidéos.
Les personnes retenues pour intégrer l’orchestre seront contactées dans le courant du mois de décembre puis invitées à la première répétition après avoir reçu les partitions. À partir de janvier, les répétitions auront lieu tous les lundis soir excepté pendant les vacances scolaires.

Nous sommes à votre disposition pour répondre à vos questions par e-mail à l’adresse ope@philharmonie.lu.

Préparez vos archets, vos anches, vos embouchures ou vos baguettes et laissez-vous guider par votre amour de la musique!

Benjamin Schäfer, direction

 
  • Biographie

    Né en 1985 à Sarrebruck, Benjamin Schäfer intègre l’Orchestre Philharmonique du Luxembourg en tant que timbalier et percussionniste solo à l’âge de 22 ans seulement. Il est par ailleurs régulièrement invité par le Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks, les orchestres de la radio d’Allemagne du Nord (Norddeutscher Rundfunk) et de la Sarre (Saarländischer Rundfunk), la Dresdner Philharmonie, le Gürzenich Orchester Köln, ainsi que le Staatsorchester Saarbrücken. Après le baccalauréat, il a étudié la musique d’orchestre à la Musikhochschule Trossingen auprès de Franz Lang, membre du SWR Symphonieorchester, et de Guido Rückel, membre des Münchner Philharmoniker. Pendant ses études, il a été timbalier au sein d’orchestres de jeunes renommés comme le Bundesjugendorchester, la Junge Deutsche Philharmonie, l’European Union Youth Orchestra et le Gustav Mahler Jugendorchester. Depuis quelques années, il se consacre de façon intensive à la direction d’orchestre. Il est chef de l’ensemble de cuivres de l’Orchestre Philarmonique du Luxembourg et prend part régulièrement à des concours et master classes dispensées notamment par Jukka-Pekka Saraste, Esa-Pekka Salonen, Sakari Oramo et Jorma Panula. En 2018, il est arrivé en demi-finale du 7e Concours international de direction d’orchestre Jorma Panula en Finlande. Il a également remporté le 2e Concours international de direction d’orchestre de Bucarest où il a gagné le Prix du public et le Special Talent Award.