Jump to page content Skip to navigation

Covid-19: Information regarding our concerts, more here

Dariusz Wisniewski

Double Bass

Born in 1968 in Katowice, Poland, Dariusz Wisniewski studied piano, trumpet, horn, double bass and conducting, graduating with distinction from Liceum Muzyczne in Katowice.

After two years studying at the Warsaw Academy of Music, in 1989, he won an international competition and was accepted to attend Eastern Music Festival. During the festival, he was awarded a scholarship by Yale School of Music to study at Yale University. Later, while undertaking doctoral studies at State University of New York, he taught chamber music, double bass and worked as a sound engineer and conductor. He played chamber music concerts with Izaak Stern and Alexander Schneider, a member of the Budapest String Quartet, with whom Dariusz Wisniewski performed in the Carnegie, Avery Fisher Hall and John F. Kennedy Center in Washington, D.C.

While in the US, he became solo bassist in the New England Symphony Orchestra. He performed in Yale Contemporary Ensemble, National Orchestral Institute, New York String Orchestra, Red Sea Music Festival in Israel and Schleswig-Holstein Musik Festival.

Returning to Europe, he worked as solo/assistant solo bassist with Malmö Opera, Kammerphilharmonie Schleswig-Holstein Musik Festival, Mahler Chamber Orchestra, and Philharmonia Orchestra, London. Since 1998 he has been a member of the Orchestre Philharmonique du Luxembourg. 

Upon graduating from the Liege Royal Conservatoire in Belgium with conducting diploma, he also completed his US Doctoral Degree. He has led orchestras in Germany, Hungary, Belgium, United States, Australia, New Zealand and Poland.

Dariusz Wisniewski recently completed a post-graduate degree in Arts Management at the Warsaw School of Economics.

Photo: Eric Chenal Photo: Eric Chenal

Zum Seiteninhalt springen Zur Navigation springen

Covid-19: Informations importantes par rapport à nos concerts, en savoir plus

Dariusz Wisniewski

Contrebasse

Né en 1968 à Katowice en Pologne, Dariusz Wisniewski étudie le piano, la trompette, le cor, la contrebasse et la direction d’orchestre. Il obtient son diplôme avec mention au Liceum Muzyczne de Katowice.

Après deux ans d’études à l’Académie de Musique de Varsovie, il remporte, en 1989, une compétition internationale et a l’occasion de participer à l’Eastern Music Festival. Lors de ce festival, il décroche une bourse d’études de la Yale School of Music qui lui permet de poursuivre ses études à l’université de Yale. Pendant son doctorat à la State University of New York, il enseigne la musique de chambre et la contrebasse, et travaille également en tant qu’ingénieur du son et chef d’orchestre. Il donne des concerts de musique de chambre avec Isaak Stern et Alexander Schneider, membre du Budapest String Quartet. Avec ce dernier, Dariusz Wisniewski se produit au Carnegie Hall, à l’Avery Fisher Hall et au John F. Kennedy Center à Washington, D.C.

Lors de son séjour aux États-Unis, il devient contrebassiste soliste du New England Symphony Orchestra. Il joue également avec le Yale Contemporary Ensemble, le National Orchestral Institute, le New York String Orchestra, au Red Sea Music Festival en Israël et au Schleswig-Holstein Musik Festival.

De retour en Europe, il travaille en tant que contrebassiste soliste/co-soliste solo à l’Opéra de Malmö, au sein de la Kammerphilharmonie du Schleswig-Holstein Musik Festival, du Mahler Chamber Orchestra et du Philharmonia Orchestra à Londres. Depuis 1998, il fait partie de l’Orchestre Philharmonique du Luxembourg.

En plus de son diplôme de direction d’orchestre obtenu au Conservatoire Royal de Liège, il a achevé son doctorat. Il dirige des orchestres en Allemagne, en Hongrie, en Belgique, aux États-Unis, en Australie, en Nouvelle-Zélande et en Pologne.

Dernièrement, Dariusz Wisniewski a obtenu un diplôme de troisième cycle en management culturel à la Warsaw School of Economics.

Photo: Eric Chenal Photo: Eric Chenal