Jump to page content Skip to navigation

Markus Brönnimann

Flute

Markus Brönnimann has been the Orchestre Philharmonique du Luxembourg’s principal flute since 1998. He was born in Switzerland and studied first with Günter Rumpel at the music college in Zurich and continued his studies with Michel Debost in the USA and with Renate Greiss-Armin in Karlsruhe. During this time, he was awarded the prize of the Migros-Genossenschaftsbund.

By joining the Junge Deutsche Philharmonie, Markus Brönnimann gained a first experience in orchestra playing, before being appointed as principal flute in the NDR Radiophilharmonie Hannover and the Philharmonisches Orchester Hagen/Westfalen.

A passionate chamber music musician, he is a member of the Ensemble Pyramide which has its own concert series in Zurich, and he is regularly invited to festivals all over the world. He performs regularly at the Rheingau Festival and at the Schleswig-Holstein-Musikfestival, and also further afield in China and at the Cape Classics in South Africa.

A strong wish of Markus Brönnimann is to constantly increase the repertoire of his instrument. His extensive discography reflects his versatile and open attitude towards different musical genres. By recording for example Théodore Gouvy’s serenades, he contributed to the rediscovery of these works. Contemporary music and its interpretation are also very important to him. He has, for instance, worked with composers such as Peter Eötvös, Sylvano Bussotti, Elena Firsova, Rudolf Kelterborn and Gao Ping.

Markus Brönnimann’s musical interest is not only focused on flute playing. In recent years he has arranged more than 25 works for Ensemble Pyramide including works by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, Franz Krommer, Maurice Ravel, Gabriel Pierné and Claude Debussy that have been published on CD. Furthermore he composes and sets his own texts to music.

Photo: Eric Chenal Photo: Eric Chenal

Zum Seiteninhalt springen Zur Navigation springen

Covid-19: Informations importantes par rapport à nos concerts, en savoir plus

Markus Brönnimann

Flûte

Markus Brönnimann est, depuis 1998, flûtiste solo à l’Orchestre Philharmonique du Luxembourg. Né en Suisse, il s’est formé auprès de Günter Rumpel à la Musikhochschule Zürich. Il a ensuite étudié auprès de Michel Debost aux États-Unis et de Renate Greiss-Armin à Karlsruhe. Pendant sa formation, il a remporté le Studienpreis des Migros-Genossenschaftsbundes.

Markus Brönnimann a connu sa première expérience en orchestre à la Junge Deutsche Philharmonie, avant d’être engagé comme flûtiste soliste au NDR Radiophilharmonie Hannover et au Philharmonische Orchester Hagen/Westfalen.

Il est également passionné de musique de chambre et membre de l’Ensemble Pyramide qui donne sa propre série de concerts à Zürich. En tant que musicien de chambre, il est régulièrement l’invité de festivals en Europe et au-delà des océans. Il s’est produit au Rheingau Festival et au Schleswig-Holstein Festival ainsi qu’en Chine ou à Cape Classics, en Afrique du Sud.

Markus Brönnimann tient à élargir continuellement le répertoire de son instrument. Sa vaste discographie reflète son esprit innovant et ses intérêts multiples. Ainsi a-t-il contribué à faire redécouvrir des œuvres telles que les sérénades de Théodore Gouvy, enregistrées en CD. Ses activités en musique contemporaine lui tiennent tout autant à cœur. Il travaille notamment avec les compositeurs Peter Eötvös, Sylvano Bussotti, Elena Firsova, Rudolf Kelterborn ou Gao Ping.

L’intérêt musical de Markus Brönnimann ne s’arrête pas à la flûte. Ces dernières années, il a arrangé plus de 25 œuvres pour l’Ensemble Pyramide. Ces travaux sur la musique de Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, Franz Krommer, Maurice Ravel, Gabriel Pierné et Claude Debussy sont parus en CDs. Il conçoit également ses propres textes associés à sa musique, en des compositions uniques.

Photo: Eric Chenal Photo: Eric Chenal