Jump to page content Skip to navigation

The power of the voice

Anna Prohaska

Anna Prohaska (photo: Holger Hage Deutsche Grammophon) Anna Prohaska (photo: Holger Hage Deutsche Grammophon)
 

Since her opera debut at the age of 18, the soprano Anna Prohaska has enchanted audiences worldwide with her voice and her dramatic talent, both on the opera stage and in the concert hall. In conversation with Lydia Rilling, she talks of her artistic versatility and the programme for her residency at the Philharmonie in the 2017/18 season.

Literature plays a key role in your three concerts at the Philharmonie, especially in your «Shakespeare & Music» programme. Do you have a close relationship with Shakespeare?
Shakespeare has been with me my whole life long. My mother is English and studied English literature before she became a singer. For us, Shakespeare is a regular topic of our conversations. He is the universal writer on every subject, whether philosophy, history, or even music. It is wonderful for me to return to Juliet and to so many great memories in this programme. In one of my first public performances, at the age of 16, my brother and I sang the balcony scene from Romeo and Juliet five times in succession at the Potsdamer Schlössernacht, with me standing on a balcony six metres up. We interspersed it with Dowland and Purcell songs accompanied by a guitar. That was all the more amazing because we were just the right age for Romeo and Juliet.

For your concert wit hthe OPL and Sébastien Rouland, you have chosen Debussy's La Damoiselle élue. What attracts you about that rarely heard work?
Debussy is a composer I really love. My first opera role ever was as the boy Yniold in Debussy’s Pelléas et Mélisande. Ever since, I have always tried to include as many songs by him as possible in my repertoire. When, at La Scala with Daniel Barenboim, I sang his Trois Ballades de François Villon, I found it incredible how the voice is embedded in that fantastic orchestral sound. One thing that is especially characteristic of Debussy is his parlando style, which follows the language so closely. As a singer, you have to pay a lot of attention to clear articulation of the words and I especially enjoy doing that with Debussy in French.

What is the idea behind your «Behind the Lines» programme with the pianist Eric Schneider?
Since I was a teenager, I have always taken a great interest in the history of the First World War and in particular in the fate of the poets who fought or even died on the front line, such as Wilfred Owen, Siegfried Sassoon, and Georg Trakl. In «Behind the Lines», I have tried to throw light on as many different aspects of war as possible. On the one hand, the soldier himself, his inner life, and how he suffers. It shouldn’t always just be about heroism. On the other hand, the female perspective too, whether that of a combatant like Joan of Arc or a suffering mother or wife, as in the case of Rachmaninov. Then there is Hanns Eisler’s «Kriegslied eines Kindes», which is a grotesque satire. That is important for me because children are so fond of playing at war and it is necessary to take a critical look at that fascination with war and at the very casual attitude our society has to violence.

I also find folk songs about war moving, for example the Scottish song «My Love Is in Germany», which dates from the Thirty Years War. Many Scots went to Germany as mercenaries and died a terrible death there, while their wives waited for them at home. I start the programme with a simple, but very powerful German song from that war, «Es geht ein dunkle Wolk herein». So far, it has often been those songs that have most moved the audience, because they are so direct and unaffected.

Zum Seiteninhalt springen Zur Navigation springen

Le pouvoir de la voix

Anna Prohaska

Anna Prohaska (photo: Holger Hage Deutsche Grammophon) Anna Prohaska (photo: Holger Hage Deutsche Grammophon)
 

Depuis ses débuts lyriques à l‘âge de 18 ans,la soprano Anna Prohaska ravit et enthousiasme le public du monde entier avec sa voix et ses talents de comé- dienne, tant sur les scènes d’opéra qu’en concert. En conversation avec Lydia Rilling, elle évoque ses différentes facettes artistiques et les pro-grammes qu’elle propose dans le cadre de sa résidence à la Philharmonie pendant la saison 2017/18.

La littérature joue un rôle majeur dans les trois concerts que vous donnerez à la Philharmonie, surtout dans le programme «Shakespeare & Music». Avez-vous un lien privilégié avec Shakespeare?
Shakespeare m’a accompagnée toute ma vie. Ma mère est anglaise et a étudié la littérature anglophone avant de devenir chanteuse. Nous parlions de Shakespeare au quotidien. C’est un écrivain universel à divers titres, qu’il s’agisse de philosophie, d’Histoire ou encore de musique. Je trouvais excitant, avec ce programme, de revenir à Juliette et à de beaux souvenirs. Lors d’une de mes toutes premières prestations, à l’âge de 16 ans dans le cadre de la Potsdamer Schlössernacht, j’ai chanté avec mon frère cinq fois d’affilée la scène du balcon de Roméo et Juliette, du haut d’un balcon à six mètres du sol. Entre, nous avions glissé des mélodies de Dowland et Purcell accompagnées à la guitare. C’était génial aussi parce que nous avions exactement l’âge de Roméo et Juliette.

Pour votre concert avec l’OPL et Sébastien Rouland, vous avez choisi La Damoiselle élue de Debussy. En quoi cette oeuvre rarement donnée vous a-t-elle attirée?
Debussy est un compositeur que j’aime beaucoup. Mon tout premier rôle à l’opéra a été Yniold, le jeune garçon dans Pelléas et Mélisande. Depuis, j’ai toujours essayé d’intégrer le plus possible de ses mélodies à mon répertoire. Lorsque j’ai chanté ses Trois Ballades de François Villon à la Scala avec Daniel Barenboim, j’ai été impressionnée de ressentir comment la voix se mêlait aux formidables sonorités de l’orchestre. Ce qui est très caractéristique de Debussy, c’est le parlando, un style étroitement lié au texte. Les chanteurs doivent absolument se soucier de rendre le texte compréhensible et j’apprécie de le faire, surtout en français chez Debussy.

Que se cache-t-il derrière votre programme «Behind the Lines» avec le pianiste Eric Schneider?
Dès ma jeunesse, je me suis beaucoup intéressée à l’histoire de la Première Guerre mondiale et plus particulièrement aux destins de ces poètes qui, alors en première ligne, ont souffert ou sont morts, comme Wilfred Owen, Siegfried Sassoon ou Georg Trakl. Avec «Behind the Lines», j’ai essayé de refléter le maximum d’aspects possibles de la guerre. D’un côté, le soldat lui-même, sa vie intérieure et ses souffrances car il n’y a pas que l’héroïsme. De l’autre côté, la perspective des femmes du point de vue d’une guerrière comme Jeanne d’Arc, d’une mère ou d’une épouse qui souffrent comme chez Rachmaninov.
Il y a aussi la chanson de guerre d’un enfant, une satire grotesque, due à Hanns Eisler. C’est pour moi très important car les enfants aiment tant jouer à la guerre que l'on doit apporter un oeil critique à cette fascination et à ce rapport si banal de notre société à la violence. Je suis également touchée par les chansons populaires sur la guerre comme, par exemple, la mélodie écossaise «My love is in Germany» de l'époque de la Guerre de trente Ans. Beaucoup d'Écossais sont partis faire la guerre en Allemagne et y sont morts dans des conditions effroyables, pendant que les femmes les attendaient chez eux. J'ouvre le  programme avec le très simple mais non moins prenant «Es geht ein dunkle Wolk herein», un lied issu de ce même conflit. Ce sont souvent ces mélodies qui ont jusqu’à maintenant le plus touché le public parce qu’elles sont immédiatement accessibles et dépourvues de tout artifice.