Jump to page content Skip to navigation

Power to the imagination

A conversation with Jean-François Zygel

photo: Thibault Stipal photo: Thibault Stipal
 

In his third year as an Artist in residence at the Philharmonie Luxembourg, Jean-François Zygel presents ten exceptional concerts, combining the piano with the stage, the spoken voice with song, and improvisation with composition.

All year long, armed with that boundless curiosity that impels him to constantly renew his conception of music and of the concert, Jean-François Zygel invites his listeners to discover the treasures of an ever expanding artistic universe, cheerfully mixing notes with words, images, and the stage.

His «Dating» series returns for a new season. Prokofiev’s moving Romeo and Juliet, Beethoven’s Symphony N° 3 «Eroica», and Messiaen’s monumental Des canyons aux étoiles that features the Ensemble intercontemporain are on the programme for 2017/18. Each of those concerts will be followed by an improvisation concert: two offering a veritable «imaginary portrait» of the first two composers, while the third will explore the infinite spaces of the piano in an experimental project entitled Genèse for solo piano and lights.

This season, Jean-François Zygel also presents a new series, «Les dimanches de Jean-François Zygel». Over four Sundays, he performs unusual projects in the company of eminent artists. In October, the Choeur Spirito, conducted by Nicole Corti, will join Zygel for a dream-like, intense vision of sacred music: «An imaginary Requiem» in the company of, among others, Purcell, Fauré, Stravinsky, Mozart, Bach, and Rachmaninov. Jean-François Zygel has himself composed a Kaddish for the sixteen powerful and consoling voices of this French choir. In December, he will turn to Johann Sebastian Bach with the young US jazz pianist Dan Tepfer. Later, in January 2018 he will tackle Le Petit Prince, a celebrated literary work by Antoine de Saint-Exupéry, which he will set to music. For this poetic event for young and old, he will be joined by Didier Sandre of the Comédie-Française. And finally, in March he will go in search of his family roots in East Side Story, a concert-show with the Yiddish singer Talila and the cellist Martine Bailly that retraces the history of Jewish immigration between the wars and the individual stories of some of those involved.

Over the season, a range of different approaches takes you into the world of an artist who draws persistently on our most precious faculty: the imagination.

Charlotte Brouard-Tartarin

Zum Seiteninhalt springen Zur Navigation springen

L'imagination au pouvoir

Conversation avec Jean-François Zygel

photo: Thibault Stipal photo: Thibault Stipal
 

Pour sa troisième année comme artiste en résidence à la Philharmonie Luxembourg, Jean-François Zygel propose une dizaine de concerts exceptionnels, alliant le piano à la scène, la voix parlée à la voix chantée, l’improvisation au répertoire et à la composition.

Doté d’une curiosité sans bornes qui le pousse à renouveler sans cesse sa manière de concevoir la musique et le concert, Jean-François Zygel fera découvrir tout au long de l’année la richesse d’un univers artistique en perpétuelle expansion, mêlant volontiers les notes aux mots, aux images
et à la scène.

Le cycle des «Dating» se poursuit. L’émouvant Roméo et Juliette de Prokofiev, la Symphonie N° 3 «Héroïque» de Beethoven et l’oeuvre monumentale de Messiaen Des canyons aux étoiles, avec l’Ensemble intercontemporain, sont au programme en 2017/18 et seront suivis d’un concert d’improvisation dressant pour les deux premiers un véritable «portrait imaginaire» du compositeur mis à l’honneur, tandis que le troisième explorera les espaces infinis du piano, à travers une proposition expérimentale intitulée Genèse, pour piano solo et lumières.

Jean-François Zygel propose également cette saison un nouveau cycle, «Les dimanches de Jean-François Zygel». Lors de ces quatre rendezvous dominicaux, il présentera aux côtés d’artistes renommés des projets singuliers. En octobre, le Choeur Spirito, dirigé par Nicole Corti, se joindra ainsi à lui pour une vision onirique et intense de la musique sacrée. «Un Requiem imaginaire» en compagnie notamment de Purcell, Fauré, Stravinsky, Mozart, Bach et Rachmaninov, Jean-François Zygel ayant lui-même composé un Kaddish pour les seize voix puissantes et consolatrices du choeur français. En décembre, il revisitera Johann Sebastian Bach avec le jeune pianiste de jazz américain Dan Tepfer tandis qu’en janvier 2018 il se penchera sur Le Petit Prince, célèbre texte d’Antoine de Saint-Exupéry qu’il mettra en musique. Pour ce moment plein de poésie à destination des petits comme des grands, il sera accompagné de Didier Sandre, de la Comédie-Française. Enfin, en mars, il partira sur les traces de ses racines familiales dans East Side Story, concert-spectacle en compagnie de la chanteuse yiddish Talila et de la violoncelliste Martine Bailly qui retrace, entre grande Histoire et petits récits, l’immigration juive de l’entre-deuxguerres.

Autant de propositions différentes pour entrer dans le monde d’un artiste s’appuyant en permanence sur la plus précieuse de nos facultés: l’imagination.

Charlotte Brouard-Tartarin