Jump to page content Skip to navigation

15.-18.12.2022 Chrëschtdag

Susana Baca

The Podium as a Rostrum, the Microphone as a Weapon

Charlotte Brouard-Tartarin

To many, music is the language of the soul and emotions. However, it can also be the preferred means of communication for artists who express political or social demands in music. Susana Baca from Peru, ­Youssou N’Dour from Senegal and Mario Lucio from Cape Verde were all ­ministers of culture in their country during the 2010s. To each of them, political work in government was a concrete extension of the struggle they had led for years through song. Baca is an icon of Afro-Peruvian ­culture, which she actively works to preserve and share. N’Dour worked for Nelson Mandela’s release and later for vari-ous charitable organizations, while Lucio, who is a writer as well, is among the early leading theorists of creolization.

Another key figure in activism through music is Miriam Makeba, who was forced into exile for more than thirty years because of her opposition against the repressive and segregationist regime in her native South Africa. The indefatigable ­free­dom fighter left a major musical legacy, kept alive today by the American singer Somi, whose roots are in Rwanda and Uganda. She is fully conscious of the fact that Makeba and «her voice as an African woman forged her own path forward, as well as that of innumerable other African artists».

The above fought their battles with an open heart, using the concert podium as a rostrum – yet today others are persecuted simply for being musicians. In Taliban-ruled Afghanistan, merely owning a ­musical instrument is punishable by law. The musicians now living in exile depend on a friendly reception else-where to make their repertoire resound and keep their traditions alive – as is the case for the Safar Ensemble.

Zum Seiteninhalt springen Zur Navigation springen

Covid-19: Informations importantes par rapport à nos concerts, en savoir plus

Susana Baca

La scène comme tribune, le micro comme arme

Charlotte Brouard-Tartarin

Si la musique est pour beaucoup le langage de l’âme et des émotions, elle peut aussi devenir un moyen de communication privilégié pour des artistes qui, par son biais, se font l’écho de revendications politiques ou sociétales.

La Péruvienne Susana Baca, le ­Sénégalais Youssou N’Dour et le Cap-Verdien Mario Lucio ont en commun d’avoir été ministre de la culture de leurs pays respectifs durant la décennie 2010. Cet engagement au sein d’un gouvernement est pour chacun la concrétisation de longues années de lutte en chanson. La ­première est une icône de la culture afro-péruvienne dont elle participe activement à la préservation et à la diffusion. Le second s’est engagé en faveur de la libération de Nelson Mandela puis de différentes organisations caritatives tandis que le ­troisième, également écrivain, est un penseur majeur de la créo-lisation.

Une autre figure incontournable de l’engagement en musique est Miriam Makeba, forcée à l’exil pendant plus de trente ans en raison de son opposition au régime répressif et ségrégation­niste de son pays natal, l’Afrique du Sud. Cette infatigable défenseure de la liberté a laissé un important héritage musical dont s’empare aujourd’hui la chanteuse américaine d’ascendance ougandaise et rwandaise Somi, consciente que «sa voix de femme ­africaine a inévitablement guidé [son] propre voyage et celui d’innombrables autres artistes africains».

Les artistes mentionnés précédemment se sont ouvertement engagés en faveur d’une cause et ont utilisé la scène comme tribune mais de nos jours, d’autres se retrouvent pourchassés parce qu’ils sont musiciens. Dans l’Afghanistan gouverné par les talibans, le simple fait de posséder un instrument de musique est réprimé. Les musiciens désormais en exil se doivent d’être accueillis partout ailleurs pour continuer à faire ­résonner leur répertoire et leurs traditions, comme ce sera le cas du Safar Ensemble.