Jump to page content Skip to navigation

Covid-19: Information regarding our concerts, more here

Johannes Brahms - photo: Friedrich König

«Aimez-vous Brahms?»

Christoph Gaiser

The question «Aimez-vous Brahms?» – which Françoise Sagan chose as the title of her successful novel of 1959 – would be answered by most music lovers today with a decisive «Oui». Today’s concert life would be unthink­able without his orchestral works and symphonies, his chamber music and his vocal work Ein deutsches Requiem. Yet admiration and love of Brahms was not always a given, as it is today; during his lifetime, the composer was quite controversial. Prominent other composers – and even luminaries such as Tchaikovsky and Britten – are on record with decisive words of contempt. Schoenberg’s circle, however, considered Brahms a guiding star on the path to music that would draw its power and future viability only from itself.

With the exception of opera, Brahms created valid and lasting works of all genres, and throughout the 2022/23 season, a good dozen concerts at the Philharmonie invite listeners to a ­discovery, or re-discovery, of Brahms’ oeuvre. Artist in residence Sir John Eliot Gardiner will lead the Royal Concertge-bouw Orchestra in all four Brahms symphonies, demonstrating all of the many different expressive characters the symphonic form can assume in the hands of such a consummate master-composer. Gardiner also dedicates himself to Brahms’ smaller choral works with orchestral accompaniment, together with the Monteverdi Choir and the OPL. Anne-Sophie Mutter and Pablo ­Ferrández will champion Brahms’ relatively rarely-heard Double Concerto for Violin and Cello. Paavo Järvi demon­strates with the Tonhalle Orchestra Zurich how one of Brahms’ chamber music works was transformed by Arnold Schoenberg into an orchestral piece of «symphonic» heft. Those with a penchant for comparative listening can also experience the original ­version of the Piano Quartet at a «Concert-apéritif» in early October 2022. And Frank Peter Zimmermann joins Martin Helmchen in a profound survey of the sonatas of Brahms, the composer born in Hamburg who chose to live in Vienna.

Anyone still in need of arguments for learning to love Brahms might want to look up Françoise Sagan’s novel: there, attending a Brahms concert marks the turning point in the relationship between the prim Paule and her enthusiastic suitor, Simon. In this sense as in all others, Brahms can bring some «ro-mance» to all our lives.

Zum Seiteninhalt springen Zur Navigation springen

Saison 2022/23 | Découvrez nos abonnements

Johannes Brahms - photo: Friedrich König

«Aimez-vous Brahms?»

Christoph Gaiser

La plupart des mélomanes répondent aujourd’hui par un «oui» catégorique à la question «Aimez-vous Brahms?», posée par Françoise Sagan dans le titre de son livre à succès de 1959. De nos jours, les œuvres orchestrales et les symphonies de Johannes Brahms sont devenues incontournables, tout comme sa mu-sique de chambre et sa pièce vocale Un requiem allemand. L’amour pour Brahms n’a pas toujours été aussi grand et le compositeur était particulièrement controversé de son vivant. D’éminents collègues – comme Piotr Ilitch Tchaïkovski et Benjamin Britten – ont d’ailleurs clairement exprimé leur mépris. En revanche, le cercle d’Arnold Schönberg considérait Brahms comme une étoile directrice sur la voie d’une musique qui puise sa force et sa ­viabilité entière-ment en elle-même.

Brahms a créé des partitions durablement établies dans tous les genres, à l’exception de l’opéra. Au cours de la saison 2022/23, une bonne douzaine de concerts à la Philharmonie invitent à une nouvelle rencontre ou à des retrouvailles avec son œuvre. ­L’Artiste en résidence Sir John Eliot Gardiner interprétera les quatre s­ymphonies de Brahms à la tête du Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra et montrera ainsi les différents caractères expressifs que peut prendre la forme symphonique lorsqu’un technicien accompli comme Brahms s’y emploie. En outre, Gardiner se consacrera aux petites pièces chorales de Brahms aux côtés du Monteverdi Choir et de l’Orchestre Philharmonique du Luxembourg. Anne-Sophie Mutter et Pablo Ferrández plaideront en faveur du Double concerto pour violon et violoncelle, rarement entendu en comparaison. Enfin, Paavo Järvi montrera avec le Tonhalle Orchester Zürich comment l’une des œuvres de musique de chambre de Brahms a été transformée par Schönberg en une partition orchestrale d’une ampleur presque «symphonique». Ceux qui aiment faire des écoutes comparatives pourront découvrir le Quatuor avec piano dans sa version originale lors d’un «Concert-apéritif». Et Frank Peter Zimmermann, accompagné de Martin Helmchen, donnera un aperçu approfondi de la production de sonates de ce Viennois d’adoption né à Hambourg.

Pour ceux qui cherchent encore des arguments afin d’apprendre à aimer Brahms, il suffit de consulter le livre de Françoise Sagan: un concert du compo-siteur y marque un tournant dans la relation entre la prude Paule et Simon, qui la courtise fougueusement. En ce sens, Brahms peut donc aussi apporter un peu de «romantisme» dans notre vie à tous.