Jump to page content Skip to navigation

how does it feel? – rainy days 2017

 

rainy days follows its feelings and invites you to join in, posing the crucial question: how does it feel?

For decades, new music has been asked whether it is losing touch. In 2017 rainy days explores the emotional landscapes of contemporary music to reveal the opposite. In concerts, installations, performances, conversations, and a conference the festival discovers the many ways in which today’s music can express, evoke, transform, exploit, or avoid emotion to touch, affect, move, or keep you at a distance. An opera for your body. The power of the voice. A composer’s loving tribute to his musicians. Dissolving sounds that become even more touching. High-charged string quartets. Evocative sounds of home. Music «freed» from subjectivity. A sonic treasure hunt for children. The entire Philharmonie transformed into a wunderkammer.

For the first time, rainy days hosts a conference dedicated to the festival topic, as well as the final concert of the Luxembourg Composition Academy, in cooperation with neimënster and United Instruments of Lucilin. Chaya Czernowin, whose new cello concerto Guardian is prominently featured at rainy days, leads the faculty. The festival is glad to continue its long partnership with Grand Théâtre and Mudam.

how does it feel presents: Adapter, EXAUDI, JACK Quartet, Klangforum Wien, Noise Watchers, l’Orchestre Philharmonique du Luxembourg, Remix Ensemble Porto, United Instruments of Lucilin, Yarn/Wire, Tomomi Adachi, Séverine Ballon, Peter Brötzmann, Susanne Elmark, Hany Heshmat, Roland Kluttig, Heather Leigh, Marc Meyers, Aniela Stoffels, Jennifer Walshe...

With premieres and new works by Wojtek Blecharz, Iván Boumans, Rick Burkhardt, Chaya Czernowin, Catherine Kontz, Catherine Lamb, Claude Lenners, Cassandra Miller, Robin Minard, Wolfgang Mitterer, Yoshiaki Onishi, Hannes Seidl, S.L.Á.T.U.R....

The rainy days festival pass and the tickets for all events of the festival are available from 02.10.2017.

Zum Seiteninhalt springen Zur Navigation springen

how does it feel? – rainy days 2017

 

rainy days se laisse guider par ses émotions et vous invite à faire de même en posant la question cruciale: how does it feel?

Pendant des décennies, on a demandé à la nouvelle musique si elle évitait les émotions. Mais en 2017, rainy days explore les paysages émotionnels de la musique contemporaine pour faire ressentir le contraire. À travers des concerts, des installations, des performances, des conversations et des journées d’étude, le festival dévoile les nombreuses façons qu’a la musique aujourd’hui d’exprimer, d’évoquer, de transformer, d’exploiter ou d’éviter l’émotion pour toucher, affecter, émouvoir ou vous tenir à distance. Un opéra pour votre corps. Le pouvoir de la voix. Une preuve d’amour d’un compositeur à ses musiciens. Des sons dont la disparition progressive les rend plus touchants. Des quatuors à cordes à haute tension. Des sons évocateurs du pays d’origine et de terres étrangères. Une musique «libérée» de la subjectivité. Une chasse au trésor musicale pour enfants. La Philharmonie toute entière transformée en une wunderkammer.

Pour la première fois, rainy days accueille deux journées d’étude consacrées au thème du festival, ainsi que le concert final de la Luxembourg Composition Academy, organisée en coopération avec neimënster et United Instruments of Lucilin et lors de laquelle Chaya Czernowin, compositrice de premier plan du festival, enseignera. L’heureux partenariat de longue date avec le Grand Théâtre et le Mudam se poursuit également.

how does it feel presents: Adapter, EXAUDI, JACK Quartet, Klangforum Wien, Noise Watchers, l’Orchestre Philharmonique du Luxembourg, Remix Ensemble Porto, United Instruments of Lucilin, Yarn/Wire, Tomomi Adachi, Séverine Ballon, Peter Brötzmann, Susanne Elmark, Hany Heshmat, Roland Kluttig, Heather Leigh, Marc Meyers, Aniela Stoffels, Jennifer Walshe...

With premieres and new works by Wojtek Blecharz, Iván Boumans, Rick Burkhardt, Chaya Czernowin, Catherine Kontz, Catherine Lamb, Claude Lenners, Cassandra Miller, Robin Minard, Wolfgang Mitterer, Yoshiaki Onishi, Hannes Seidl, S.L.Á.T.U.R....

Le passe-partout rainy days ainsi que les billets pour tous les événements du festival sont en vente à partir du 02.10.2017.