Jump to page content Skip to navigation

Covid-19: Information regarding our concerts, more here

Gilberto Gil, Gal Costa, Nando Reis
photo: Alfonso Salgueiro

 

America, South to North

Charlotte Brouard-Tartarin

 

The autumn of 2021 brings a pair of debuts by long-established master musicians: the saxophonists Anthony Braxton and Charles Lloyd appear on stage at the Philharmonie for the first time – at the age of 76 and 83, respectively. Braxton, the grand master of free jazz and a prolific composer, brings his radical brand of creativity to the festival rainy days. Like Braxton, Lloyd has been a protagonist of jazz history since the 1960s; he now presents his spiritually inflected sound in the Grand Auditorium.

Gilberto Gil, a musical figurehead and veritable «elder statesman» of Brazilian music, returns to the Philharmonie as part of the festival atlântico. Like Caetano Veloso and Chico Buarque, he is among the central figures of Música Popular Brasileira (MPB), which developed during the 1960s under the influence of bossa nova. Nor did being forced into exile during dictatorship stop him from harnessing his art for political and social change. After his return, Gilberto Gil was even appointed the Brazilian minister of culture in Lula da Silva’s administration. This indefatigable freedom fighter has lost none of his energy, and his European tours remain eagerly- and long-awaited events.

The US-American pianist and composer Maria Schneider makes a rare appearance on this side of the Atlantic, returning to the Philharmonie on 05.02. after her last performance here in 2011. Schneider was the assistant to Gil Evans until his death in 1988. That same year she founded the ensemble known today as the Maria Schneider Orchestra. Her distinctive personal style has made her one of the most renowned composers for jazz ensembles.

Zum Seiteninhalt springen Zur Navigation springen

Covid-19: Informations importantes par rapport à nos concerts, en savoir plus

Gilberto Gil, Gal Costa, Nando Reis
photo: Alfonso Salgueiro

 

L'Amérique, du sud au nord

Charlotte Brouard-Tartarin

 

Honneur aux «petits» nouveaux: les saxophonistes Anthony Braxton et Charles Lloyd, respectivement 76 et 83 ans, feront leurs premiers pas à la Philharmonie à l’automne 2021. Le premier, sommité du free jazz et compositeur prolifique, marquera le festival rainy days de sa créativité radicale tandis que le second, figure historique du jazz depuis les années 1960, amènera sa sonorité teintée de spiritualité sur la scène du Grand Auditorium.

Un autre septuagénaire, icône de la scène brésilienne, précédera les deux Nord-Américains: Gilberto Gil retrouvera la Philharmonie le 10.10. dans le cadre du festival atlântico. Aux côtés de Chico Buarque et Caetano Veloso, il est l’un des piliers du genre de la Música Popular Brasileira (MPB), né dans les années 1960 et originellement influencé par la bossa-nova. Malgré un exil forcé sous la dictature, il n’a jamais cessé d’associer son engagement politique et social à sa pratique artistique, occupant même le poste de Ministre de la Culture sous la présidence de Lula da Silva. Cet infatigable défenseur de la liberté n’a rien perdu de son énergie et sa venue en Europe est un rendez-vous toujours très attendu.

Tout aussi rare de ce côté de l’Atlantique est également la pianiste et compositrice nord-américaine Maria Schneider qui, après sa dernière apparition à la Philharmonie en 2011, y sera de retour le 05.02. Travaillant avec Gil Evans jusqu’à son décès en 1988, elle fonde cette année-là ce qui deviendra le Maria Schneider Orchestra, qu’elle dirige et pour lequel elle compose. Le style hautement personnel de ses arrangements foisonnants la classe aujourd’hui parmi les auteurs les plus réputés en matière d’écriture pour ensemble.