Jump to page content Skip to navigation

Covid-19: Information regarding our concerts, more here

Benjamin Britten

 

God Save The Music

Charlotte Brouard-Tartarin

 

To some, the United Kingdom is the home of rugby; to others it signifies good whisky or breath-taking landscapes. To music lovers, it is home to a rich history and vibrant musical culture.

Let us travel first to the 17th century, where we encounter Henry Purcell sung by Jakub Józef Orlin´ski and Joyce DiDonato. The mezzo-soprano is also heard in Georg Friedrich Händel’s Theodora – a work by a German composer who was uncommonly successful in England and whose life’s trajectory made him European avant la lettre. His output includes the oratorio L’Allegro, il Penseroso ed il Moderato, interpreted by Les Arts Florissants. Its Italian title camouflages the fact that its text was written by the English poet John Milton.

While it may not be a unique feature of this tradition, British music does have a special connection to literature and particularly to William Shakespeare, as Rolando Villazón’s programme demonstrates. The Francophile Benjamin Britten, on the other hand, set Arthur Rimbaud’s poems Les Illuminations to music, performed by Sabine Devieilhe. The same composer’s The Young Person’s Guide to the Orchestra has been a favourite of listeners of all ages since its premiere in 1946 and is featured twice this season on the Philharmonie programme. Great Britain is also home to an ancient and worldrenowned choral tradition, epitomised by the cathedrals and the colleges of the University of Cambridge, where the Choir of St John’s College is one of its mainstays. Thomas Trotter, who appears alongside the choir, stands for the British Isles’ venerable tradition of organ-playing.

The Grand Auditorium will also invite to the stage many outstanding musicians who are part of the UK’s musical landscape: the London Symphony Orchestra under the baton of Sir Simon Rattle in two performances, as well as the Scottish Chamber Orchestra and the Chamber Orchestra of Europe, a collective that has been based in London since its foundation. It is the Orchestre Philharmonique du Luxembourg that features music from England on its programmes, being led by the British conductor Andrew Manze in Edward Elgar’s Symphony N° 1 and performing Thomas Adès’ latest violin concerto in another concert. The pianist Tamara Stefanovich presents world premieres of works by the composers Emma-Ruth Richards and Martin Suckling. Finally, the picture would be incomplete without mentioning the Londoner Damon Albarn or Northern Ireland’s Neil Hannon, the founder and front man of The Divine Comedy, two author-composer-performers making their contribution in a progressive pop field.

From Trafalgar Square to the Place de l’Europe – the story of British music and its fruitful European relationships does not stop, but continues to be interwoven.

Zum Seiteninhalt springen Zur Navigation springen

Covid-19: Informations importantes par rapport à nos concerts, en savoir plus

Benjamin Britten

 

God Save The Music

Charlotte Brouard-Tartarin

 

Pour certains, le Royaume-Uni est un pays de rugby. Pour d’autres, une terre de whiskys renommés ou de paysages sauvages à couper le souffle. Une fois évoquées ces qualités, il en est une supplémentaire qui s’impose à nous: la richesse historique et la formidable vitalité de sa musique.

Remontons jusqu’au 17e siècle pour y trouver Henry Purcell, chanté par Jakub Józef Orlin´ski et Joyce DiDonato. Cette dernière proposera aussi Theodora de Georg Friedrich Händel, compositeur originaire d’Allemagne qui connaîtra un immense succès en Angleterre et dont le parcours fait de lui un citoyen européen avant l’heure. Il est également l’auteur de l’oratorio L’Allegro, il Penseroso ed il Moderato, interprété par Les Arts Florissants, Henry Purcell dont le titre italien ne laisse pas deviner que son texte est écrit par le poète anglais John Milton.

Bien qu’il ne soit pas spécifique à la musique britannique, le lien avec la littérature y est particulièrement présent, de l’incontournable William Shakespeare sur lequel se penchera Rolando Villazón jusqu’aux Illuminations du très francophile Benjamin Britten, sur des poèmes d’Arthur Rimbaud, chantées par Sabine Devieilhe. De ce même compositeur résonnera à deux reprises The Young Person’s Guide to the Orchestra, pièce symphonique destinée à l’éducation musicale des enfants qui fait le bonheur des petits comme des grands depuis sa création en 1946. Mentionner Britten signifie évoquer une tradition chorale ancestrale et mondialement reconnue, notamment présente au sein des cathédrales et des universités, et dont le Choir of St John’s College de Cambridge est un éminent représentant, tout comme Thomas Trotter, présent aux côtés du choeur, incarne la tradition de l’orgue.

D’autres interprètes phares du paysage musical du Royaume-Uni retrouveront la scène du Grand Auditorium: citons par exemple le London Symphony Orchestra dirigé par Sir Simon Rattle, le Scottish Chamber Orchestra ou encore le Chamber Orchestra of Europe basé à Londres. Il est intéressant de souligner que c’est en revanche l’Orchestre Philharmonique du Luxembourg qui s’emparera de la Symphony N° 1 d’Edward Elgar, sous la direction du Britannique Andrew Manze, puis du nouveau concerto pour violon de Thomas Adès. La pianiste Tamara Stefanovich créera quant à elle deux nouvelles oeuvres des compositeurs Emma-Ruth Richards et Martin Suckling. Enfin, le tableau ne serait pas complet sans parler du Londonien Damon Albarn ou de l’Irlandais du Nord Neil Hannon, fondateur et chanteur de The Divine Comedy qui, en tant qu’auteurs-compositeursinterprètes, apportent leur contribution dans un registre plus pop.

De Trafalgar Square à la Place de l’Europe, l’histoire de la musique britannique et de ses fructueux échanges avec l’Europe n’en finit pas de s’écrire et le chapitre luxembourgeois promet d’en contenir quelques-unes des plus belles pages.