Jump to page content Skip to navigation

Covid-19: Information regarding our concerts, more here

photo: Jörg Hekjal photo: Jörg Hekjal
 

Figures

Four manuals
83 registers
6.768 pipes

The new state of the art Schuke organ of the Philharmonie’s Grand Auditorium unites all the strengths of the biggest concert hall organs in an exceptionnally versatile instrument.

More about the organ (PDF)

Maurice Clement

Maurice Clement, resident organist at the Philharmonie since 2007 and one of the most innovative organists in Luxembourg, draws astonishing tone colours from his extraordinary instrument.

more

The organ of the Philharmonie

True tradition is not merely a witness of the past. It is a living force, which stimulates and educates the present. To create something new, one has to connect with tradition. In such a way tradition secures the continuity of the creation. (Igor Stravinsky)

The Philharmonie Luxembourg is located in the heart of Europe. More than in other regions, the cultural life of Luxembourg has been influenced by her surrounding neighbors. Identity and integration both play an important role; the neighbors have gained in their mutual experience, and where people are facing each other, mutual recognition leads to mutual enrichment. This may sound political, but it also describes what the organ has experienced over the course of several centuries. The concept of the new organ in the Philharmonie Luxembourg exactly reflects that development.

Naturally, the organ at the Philharmonie Luxembourg has to be a ‹universal› instrument, although the term ‹universality› cannot fully capture the concept. It is not a clearly defined term, as the style of an instrument constantly has to be redefined. The Luxembourg organ integrates German same as French style, and it also bears characteristics of the Anglo-American organ building style. The organ is mainly defined by its demands. It will become a musical experience, when unheard sounds are evoked. Sounds, that are familiar to us, yet heard in a new experience. It is a discovery journey into the world of sound, which is demanded by the music. To bring this into an aesthetic reality, is the most noble task of a new organ.

The organ facade

Every room possesses its own atmosphere. The moment you enter a room, there is a certain expectation. The visual statement of an organ facade does evoke a certain musical expectation with the visitor, almost tuning him up for the music to come. In this expectation, we are lead through time and space; we are invited to experience structure and recognize correlation; we can guess what to anticipate and focus on the essential.

The organ is not only a musical instrument, but also an architectural element, and as such not to be overlooked. The architectural element is directly related to the architectural concept of the Hall. Essential to the organ is the «body of pipes.» It becomes visible and a visual part of the architecture. It is perfectly predestined to do so. The concept of the facade design in Luxembourg is embedded into another element, which is an essential idea of Christian de Portzamparc, the architect of the Philharmonie Luxembourg: the box-like towers on the sides, the idea of ‹a room within a room› – we are in a room and surrounded by other rooms. The organ picks up this idea by the traditional design of pipe towers, and fields of pipes. The unity of the case is broken up into single segments, ‹chambers of pipes.› Slim towers are reduced to simplicity, geometric forms are dominating, the form of a cylinder (pipe corpus) with conical attachment (pipe feet).

The organ stands out against the (black) nothing. It catches your eye without distracting it; it is architecture, but not art object. Because of its location the organ faces the audience, not obtrusive, but giving the hall a definite face of recognition. An important element of the organ is the color of the case. A solid paint of polished lacquer, different shades of red, lightened up by touches of silver blue.

The sound concept

The role of a concert hall organ is primarily defined by the accompaniment of an orchestra and its ability to become an integral part of this ensemble. We expect room-filling sonic proportions, covering all dynamic shades from the softest Pianissimo to the biggest Forte. Organ and orchestra have to complement each other. As the orchestra plays with certain «registrations,» the concert hall organ must be handled in an orchestral manner.

The organ in the new concert hall of the Luxemburg Philharmonic has 83 stops on four manuals and pedal. The stoplist, created in cooperation with Daniel Roth, is designed like a large symphonic ensemble. The sound concept reflects not only the traditional German and French ideas, but also principles of English and American organ building. It is an instrument, which can provide symphonic sounds of substantial power or real lightness, from crystal clarity to heavy darkness. The concept offers many possibilities of dynamic variation.

In addition to the stoplist the dynamics are enriched by certain technical devices, such as octave couplers (windchests with 73 pipes per rank), and a generous layout with four enclosed divisions. With the exception of the Great division (Hauptwerk), each other division is enclosed including parts of the Pedal. A certain number of stops in both, Positif and Recit, is in a second swell box (swell within the swell). The three manual swells can be coupled to one swell shoe (Generalschweller).

Most important in the overall tonal layout is a differentiated ensemble of characteristic stops. The predominant pitch is the 8' octave. This alone allows great nuances in color and dynamics. 32' and 16' ranks, reeds and octave couplers add to the foundation and expressional qualities of the organ.

The individual divisions are not necessarily related by the old pitch level concept of the ‹Werkprinzip› (32':16':8':4'), but distinguished by individual and characteristic colors. Entirely in accord with the symphonic concept, the addition of stops at the same pitch changes both, timbre and dynamics. The concert hall organ essentially depends on the tonal pyramid of stop families, such as diapasons, flutes, strings, and reeds from the foundation to the mixtures. The complete pyramid of each of those families can be found in either of the three manual divisions – Hauptwerk, Positif, Recit –, as well as in the pedal.

Zum Seiteninhalt springen Zur Navigation springen

Covid-19: Informations importantes par rapport à nos concerts, en savoir plus

photo: Jörg Hekjal photo: Jörg Hekjal
 

Les chiffres

Quatre manuels
83 registres
6.768 tuyaux

Le nouvel orgue de Schuke (Berlin) du Grand Auditorium de la Philharmonie associe les qualités d’un grand orgue de salle de concert, à un instrument d’une précision extraordinaire relevant du Grand Art.

En savoir plus sur l'orgue (PDF)

Maurice Clement

Maurice Clement,organiste titulaire de la Philharmonie depuis 2007 et l'un des organistes les plus innovants de Luxembourg, a le don d'extraire de son extraordinaire instrument, des sonorités inédites.

en savoir plus

L'orgue de la Philharmonie

La véritable tradition n’est pas le témoin d’un passé révolu. Elle constitue une forme vivante qui anime et enrichit le présent. Elle forme un tremplin vers de nouvelles créations. En d’autres termes, la tradition assure la continuité de la créativité.
(Igor Stravinsky)

La Philharmonie Luxembourg est au coeur de l’Europe. Plus qu’ailleurs, la vie culturelle de ce pays s’enrichit des influences de ses voisins. Le Luxembourg doit miser sur son intégration sans pour autant renoncer à son identité, et lorsqu’il y parvient dans l’harmonie, la valeur ajoutée est tangible. Si le ton de ce discours paraît bien politique, c’est en fait le reflet de l’évolution historique de l’orgue, auquel s’allie désormais le concept de l’orgue de la Philharmonie Luxembourg.

Bien entendu, l’orgue de la Philharmonie Luxembourg est un orgue universel au sens propre (et donc au meilleur sens) du terme. Toutefois, ce style n’est pas évident à première vue car il n’a d’autre choix que de se développer et son identité ne cesse d’être redéfinie. Cet orgue luxembourgeois réunit à la fois les styles allemand et français, ainsi que des caractéristiques d’instruments anglo-américains. Cet orgue répond tout simplement à ce que l’on attend de lui. Les sons inédits qu’il produit nous offrent une fantastique expérience musicale. Des sons qui nous sont familiers, mais que l’on redécouvre. Cette exploration d’univers sonores à laquelle la musique nous invite, est la fonction première d’un nouvel orgue dont la mission est si délicate sur le plan de l’esthétique musicale.

Le buffet d'orgue

Toute pièce est habitée par sa propre atmosphère. Au moment où l’on rentre, on a certaines attentes. L’allure du buffet d’orgue prépare déjà le spectateur à une certaine expérience sonore, elle le met en quelque sorte au diapason. Pendant cette initiation, on se laisse conduire à travers le temps et l’espace, on identifie les relations et les systèmes pour mieux se concentrer sur l’essentiel.

L’orgue ne peut être réduit à une caisse de résonance, et son aspect architectonique ne doit pas être sous-estimé puisqu’il fait partie intégrante de l’architecture de la salle. Un élément-clé de l’orgue est le tuyau, qui assure l’émission sonore et a donc une fonction créatrice. Par le biais des tours abritant les loges du Grand Auditorium, l’architecte de la Philharmonie Luxembourg, Christian de Portzamparc, confère néanmoins un thème tout à fait particulier au buffet: des tours isolées, dissociées, qui donnent une sensation de recul et de profondeur. Nous sommes dans une salle, entourés d’autres salles. L’orgue reprend cette idée grâce au principe traditionnel des tuyaux alignés: les tours du buffet. Le buffet à proprement parler se décline en différents modules. Des tours élancées d’une simplicité absolue, des formes géométriques se dessinent au premier plan, ainsi que la forme des tuyaux cylindriques de base conique.

L’orgue se détache de l’obscurité. Il attire le regard mais reste insaisissable, c’est une réalisation architecturale et non une oeuvre d’art. L’orgue fait face au public, et tout en étant discret, il confère à la salle tout son caractère. Sa couleur est essentielle: des nuances dégradées de rouge habillent le vernis et sont complétées par des surfaces balayées d’un bleu argent.

Le concept sonore

Le rôle d’un orgue de concert est avant tout d’accompagner l’orchestre et de s’intégrer dans son corps sonore. Pour nous, l’orgue doit créer une musique qui emplisse tout l’espace, qui s’étende du plus léger ‹pianissimo› au puissant ‹forte›, en passant par toutes les nuances dynamiques. L’orgue et l’orchestre se complètent l’un l’autre. L’orgue de concert doit se fondre dans l’orchestre, lui-même dirigé par les compositeurs et les chefs d’orchestre.

L’orgue du Grand Auditorium de la Philharmonie Luxembourg est doté de 83 registres répartis sur 4 manuels et pédaliers. La disposition, réalisée en coopération avec Daniel Roth, est celle d’un grand instrument symphonique. Des éléments anglais et américains y côtoient les modèles de disposition allemand et français, plus courants. Cet instrument permet de produire des sons symphoniques d’une grande puissance, mais aussi des sons légers, purs et brillants ou encore obscurs et pesants.

Cela est assuré par la disposition, mais aussi par des compléments techniques tels que le couplage d’octave (super couplage allant jusqu’à c5) et un vaste dispositif doté de 4 boîtes expressives. À l’exception du Grand orgue, chaque jeu est posé dans une boîte expressive (une partie des registres dans le pédalier). Dans le Positif comme dans le Récit, une série de registres se trouvent dans une seconde boîte expressive (une boîte dans une autre boîte).

Le principe fondamental de la disposition est un timbre caractéristique très légèrement différent. La grande palette de jeu de 8' permet de produire des nuances dynamiques et sonores. Les jeux 32' et 16', les anches et les couplages d’octave confèrent à l’orgue une plus grande expressivité ainsi qu’une base sonore fondamentale.

Les différentes parties ne sont pas tant reliées par une relation classique entre les différentes hauteurs (32':16':8':4'), que par des nuances de sonorités colorant les timbres. Dans le concept sonore de sonorité symphonique, l’uniformisation du son par des registres de même hauteur est également lié à une modification dynamique. Par ailleurs, un dispositif clos, des huit pouces aux plus hauts registres, des différentes familles de registres (principaux, flûtes, instruments à cordes et anches) est un autre principe de la disposition de cet orgue de concert. Le dispositif complet de chacun de ces choeurs se retrouve respectivement dans un des trois manuels – Grand orgue, Positif ou Récit – ainsi que dans le pédalier.