Jump to page content Skip to navigation

Sir Simon Rattle

«Brahms & Shostakovich»

08.03.2024 19:30,

Grand Auditorium

add to calendar

London Symphony Orchestra
Sir Simon Rattle direction
Isabelle Faust violon

Johannes Brahms: Violinkonzert
Dmitri Chostakovitch: Symphonie N° 4

Two titans of the symphonic repertoire. Such is the focus of this second concert given by the London Symphony Orchestra and their former conductor, Sir Simon Rattle. Shostakovich’s mighty Symphony N° 4 (completed in 1936 but not premiered until 1961!) reflects his growing fears at developments in Russia under Stalin. By contrast, Brahms’s Violin Concerto – heard here with star soloist Isabelle Faust – is one of the composer’s sunniest compositions. Its finale, inspired by Hungarian gypsy music, is especially life-enhancing.

Trier–Philharmonie Luxembourg

Bus-Shuttle for this concert:

Bus-Shuttle Logo




Regular price
  • 105
  • 85
  • 50
Reduced price
(<30 years)
  • 63
  • 51
  • 30

Kulturpass bienvenue!

Last tickets available at the evening desk