J hn
Malkovich in «The Music Critic at the Symphony»

Grand Auditorium
two men, one playing the violin the other is john malkovich

What you'll hear and see

The music

  • Antonín Dvořák Danse slave op. 46/8 (arr. Aleksey Igudesman)
  • Ludwig van Beethoven Allegro con brio (Symphonie N° 5) (arr. Aleksey Igudesman)
  • Claude Debussy Prélude à l’après-midi d’un faune (arr. Aleksey Igudesman)
  • Johannes Brahms Ungarischer Tanz WoO 1/1 (arr. Aleksey Igudesman)
  • Giya Kancheli Broken Chant (arr. Aleksey Igudesman)
  • Aleksey Igudesman Tango Gitano
  • Sergueï Rachmaninov Grave – Allegro ma non troppo (Symphonie N° 1) (arr. Aleksey Igudesman)
  • Maurice Ravel Boléro (extrait) (arr. Aleksey Igudesman).
  • Robert Schumann Dichterliebe op. 48 (extrait) (arr. Aleksey Igudesman)
  • Aleksey Igudesman The Malkovich Torment

The artists

  • Luxembourg Philharmonic
  • Aleksey Igudesman direction, violon
  • John Malkovich acting
They have always been a target for satire, and Georg Kreisler was not the only one to dedicate a famous song to them: music critics. To this day, the role of the aesthetic executioner has been an intriguing subject – malice and wit, historical judgements and legendary misjudgements make for entertaining reading, especially when John Malkovich slips into the role of the critic. Aleksey Igudesman has assembled a series of striking critical reviews on compositions considered to be masterworks today – and in this collaboration with the Luxembourg Philharmonic, he makes words and music meet anew.


  • Cat. I 75 €
  • Cat. II 55 €
  • Cat. III 35 €, (+352) 26 32 26 32 Under 31? Save on ticket price with
Kulturpass welcome


  • Date Monday 06.11.23
  • Time 19:30
  • Duration 150
  • Language In English
  • Venue Grand Auditorium
How to get here