«Kavak s
plays Bartók»

Grand Auditorium
Close picture of Leonidas Kavakos playing the violin
©: Marco Borggreve

What you'll hear and see

The music

  • Béla Bartók Concerto pour violon et orchestre N° 2
  • Johann Sebastian Bach Bis: Partita N° 3 BWV 1006: 2. Loure
  • Richard Strauss Eine Alpensymphonie

The artists

  • Luxembourg Philharmonic
  • Petr Popelka conducting
  • Leonidas Kavakos violin

Bartók: violin Concerto No. 2 in B Major, Sz. 112 & Concerto for Orchestra, Sz.116

Enhance your experience

Conférence Charlotte Brouard-Tartarin

Lecture in French

About «résonances»

Travel to Central Europe with two unforgettable 20th-century compositions.

Bartók’s adventurous Second Violin Concerto is infused with the folk music of his native Hungary, while Richard Strauss’s picturesque Alpine Symphony depicts an exciting day-long hike in the Bavarian Alps. Rising star Petr Popelka conducts the Luxembourg Philharmonic with violin virtuoso Leonidas Kavakos.


  • Cat. I 75 €
  • Cat. II 55 €
  • Cat. III 35 €
Under 31? Save on ticket price with
Kulturpass welcome


  • Date Friday 17.05.24
  • Time 19:30
  • Duration 104' including a break
  • Venue Grand Auditorium
  • Subscription Solistes étoiles
How to get here