Ricc rdo

«Strauss and Mendelssohn in Italy»
Grand Auditorium

  • Riccardo Muti in a dark blue suit posing in front of Chicago
    ©: Todd Rosenberg
  • Riccardo Muti conducting the Chicago Symphony Orchestra
    ©: Todd Rosenberg

What you'll hear and see

The music

  • Philip Glass The Triumph of the Octagon
  • Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy Symphonie N° 4 «Italienische» / «Italienne»
  • Richard Strauss Aus Italien op. 16
  • Giuseppe Verdi Bis: Ouverture (Giovanna d'Arco)

The artists

  • Chicago Symphony Orchestra
  • Riccardo Muti conducting

I. Allegro vivace Riccardo Muti, Philhadelphia Orchestra

At home in a city shaped by European immigration like hardly another in the USA, the Chicago Symphony Orchestra presents three works referencing Italy, including a brand-new one by Philip Glass, in the first concert of its European tour. The following evening, Riccardo Muti and the orchestra juxtapose two symphonic masterworks, Sergey Prokofiev’s Fifth Symphony and the Third Symphony by the Afro-American composer Florence Price, who had fallen into obscurity, but has fortunately been rediscovered during recent years.


  • Cat. I 105 €
  • Cat. II 85 €
  • Cat. III 50 €
Under 31? Save on ticket price with
Kulturpass welcome


  • Date Monday 15.01.24
  • Time 19:30
  • Duration 120
  • Venue Grand Auditorium
  • Subscription Orchestres étoiles
How to get here
Sponsored by