«W ener
Philharmoniker: Aus der Neuen Welt»

Grand Auditorium
Daniel Harding sitting on stairs
©: Julian Hargreaves

What you'll hear and see

The music

  • Edward Elgar Violin Concerto
  • Antonín Dvořák Symphonie N° 9 «Du Nouveau Monde» / «Aus der Neuen Welt»
  • Johann Strauss (fils) Bis: Electro-magnetische Polka op. 110

The artists

  • Wiener Philharmoniker
  • Daniel Harding conducting
  • Frank Peter Zimmermann violin
«Herein is enshrined the soul of…» The mystery behind this inscription may be intact, but one thing is certain: Edward Elgar’s Violin Concerto is a shrine for the soul of any of its listeners. After this peaceful interlude, we follow Antonín Dvořák on a flamboyant symphonic journey on the other side of the Atlantic! The two composers, both late Romantics, were first and foremost men of great sensitivity, custodians of tradition whilst also capable of pioneering new horizons. Get ready for a luscious journey with the Wiener Philharmoniker, Frank Peter Zimmermann and Daniel Harding!