Cas ls:
The Art of Fugue

Bach on (counter)point
Salle de Musique de Chambre
The musicians of the Cuarteto Casals standing in front of a dark wall
©: Igor Cat

What you'll hear and see

The music

  • Johann Sebastian Bach Die Kunst der Fuge (L’Art de la fugue) BWV 1080

The artists

  • Cuarteto Casals
  • Vera Martínez Mehner violin
  • Abel Tomàs violin
  • Jonathan Brown viola
  • Arnau Tomàs cello

Already well acquainted with the great works of the repertoire,

the Carteto Casals will be tackling Johann Sebastian Bach’s monument to counterpoint this time, The Art of the Fugue. Although the work is usually performed on the keyboard, the manuscript does not in fact contain any specifications as to instrumentation. This musical masterpiece, sometimes regarded as the composer’s final testament, will be revealed in a new light thanks to the prowess of four inspired musicians.