Le f
Ove Andsnes

Nouveaux classiques & memento
Salle de Musique de Chambre

  • Leif Owe Andsnes in costume in a wood
    ©: Özgür Albayrak
  • Musicians of the Mahler Chamber Orchestra posing
    ©: Molina Visuals

What you'll hear and see

The music

  • Francis Poulenc Sextuor pour quintette à vent et piano
  • Igor Stravinsky Septuor
  • Louis Vierne Quintette pour cordes et piano en ut mineur op. 42

The artists

  • Membres du Mahler Chamber Orchestra
  • Leif Ove Andsnes piano

Pure joy and overwhelming sadness

are the hallmarks of this programme featuring strings, winds and piano. Joy in the case of Francis Poulenc’s Sextet, which is often playful and virtuosic, and sadness in the case of Louis Vierne’s Quintet, composed in memory of his young son who died in battle. These two works by French composers will be separated by Igor Stravinsky’s attempt at serial writing, his Septet.