Sir Simon
R ttle

«Journey to America»
Grand Auditorium
Sir Simon Rattle conducting the London Symphony Orchestra on the stage of the Grand Auditorium
©: Sébastien Grébille

What you'll hear and see

The music

  • George Gershwin Ouverture (Let 'Em Eat Cake)(arr. Don Rose) Concerto in F (éd. Timothy Freeze établie à partir de l’édition critique de George et Ira Gershwin) Bis: «I Got Rhythm» Ouverture (Strike Up the Band)(arr. Don Rose)
  • Roy Harris Symphony N° 3
  • John Adams Frenzy(commande Philharmonie, London Symphony Orchestra, Konzerthaus Dortmund, Philharmonie de Paris, Toronto Symphony Orchestra et Los Angeles Philharmonic Association – Gustavo Dudamel, directeur artistique et musical)

The artists

  • London Symphony Orchestra
  • Sir Simon Rattle conducting
  • Kirill Gerstein piano

I. Allegro

Enhance your experience

Vortrag Christoph Gaiser: «‹Papier ist geduldig›

über die Wiedergewinnung verlorener und die Verbesserung ungenügend überlieferter Werke George Gershwins» (DE)

About «résonances»

A tribute to the richness and variety of American music

in the first of two concerts at the Philharmonie given by the London Symphony Orchestra reunited with its charismatic former conductor, Sir Simon Rattle. Enjoy a new work by the ever-creative John Adams, along with Roy Harris’s expansive Symphony N° 3 (often described as «the Great American Symphony»), and George Gershwin’s jazz-infused Concerto in F, featuring virtuoso soloist Kirill Gerstein.

The art of conducting | Sir Simon Rattle

For this episode of “the art of conducting”, we sat down with Sir Simon Rattle, the music director of the London Symphony Orchestra. He talked to us about what the lockdown situation looked like for orchestras, the rehearsing & composing process of Ondřej Adámek’s piece “Where are you”, the collaboration between conductor & musicians and much more! Special thanks to the Hotel le Place d’Armes and it’s team for the warm welcome!