Gewandhaus rchester

«Tchaikovsky 1»
Grand Auditorium
Leonidas Kavakos wearing a black shirt and playing the violin
©: Marco Borggreve

What you'll hear and see

The music

  • Piotr Ilitch Tchaïkovski Concerto pour violon et orchestre Symphonie N° 5
  • Johann Sebastian Bach Bis: Solosonate N° 3 BWV 1005: 1. Adagio

The artists

  • Gewandhausorchester Leipzig
  • Andris Nelsons conducting
  • Leonidas Kavakos violin

I. Andante - Allegro con anima

A commemoration of one of the best loved of all 19th-century composers, with the incomparable Leipzig Gewandhausorchester and their Music Director Andris Nelsons. Tchaikovsky’s Violin Concerto was inspired by a healing love affair and is one of his most buoyant works, full of catchy melodies and infectious dance rhythms. It is heard here alongside his dramatic Symphony N° 5: a monumental meditation on the power of Fate and an emotional journey from darkness into light.