K vakos

«Bach Solo»
Salle de Musique de Chambre
Book your tickets
Leonidas Kavakos wearing a black shirt and playing the violin
©: Marco Borggreve

What you'll hear and see

The music

  • Johann Sebastian Bach Solosonate N° 1 BWV 1001 Partita N° 1 BWV 1002 Partita N° 2 BWV 1004

The artists

  • Leonidas Kavakos violin


Composer George Enescu once dubbed Bach’s solo sonatas and partitas «the Himalayas» for violinists.

What better performer to scale them than Leonidas Kavakos, compared by the media to the legendary virtuoso Niccolò Paganini, aka «The Devil’s Violinist»? Come and hear him play three of these works: the noble First Sonata, the graceful First Partita, and the epic Second Partita whose finale the composer Johannes Brahms described as «earth-shattering».