Mitsuko Uchida

«Beethoven’s last piano sonatas»
Grand Auditorium
A black and white photo of Mitsuko Uchida standing and wearing a shiny dress
©: Richard Avedon

What you'll hear and see

The music

  • Ludwig van Beethoven Klaviersonate op. 109 Klaviersonate op. 110 Klaviersonate op. 111

The artists

  • Mitsuko Uchida piano

Mitsuko Uchida

Between 1820 and 1822, Ludwig van Beethoven crowned his output of piano sonatas, which he had begun composing in 1795, with three final contributions. The catalogue of 32 sonatas was acclaimed by Hans von Bülow as «the New Testament of piano literature». First and foremost among its exegetes is the Japanese pianist Mitsuko Uchida, winner of the Beethoven Prize in 1969 and one of the pre-eminent experts on Beethoven’s oeuvre in the world. Due to her many years of association with the city of Vienna, she is also able to offer an outstanding stylistic contextualization of Beethoven’s music.


  • Cat. I 65 €
  • Cat. II 45 €
  • Cat. III 30 €
Under 31? Save on ticket price with
Kulturpass welcome


  • Date Tuesday 09.01.24
  • Time 19:30
  • Duration 90
  • Venue Grand Auditorium
  • Subscription Piano
How to get here