Pav l
Haas Quartet

Salle de Musique de Chambre
Pavel Haas Quartet posing for a picture in front of a marble wall, holding their instuments
©: Petra Hajska

What you'll hear and see

The music

  • Vítězslava Kaprálová Quatuor à cordes N° 1 op. 8
  • Bohuslav Martinů Quatuor à cordes N° 5 H 268
  • Claude Debussy Quatuor à cordes
  • Erwin Schulhoff Bis: Fünf Stücke: N° 5 Alla tarantella

The artists

  • Pavel Haas Quartet


Enhance your experience

Vortrag Paul Rauchs: «Pavel Haas in Theresienstadt» (DE)

About «résonances»

Do you fancy a journey to the heart of Europe?

Czech music is a key focus of this concert, given by the multi-award-winning Pavel Haas Quartet. Vítězslava Kaprálová’s sunny First Quartet is a prodigious achievement for a composer of 21, while her older compatriot (and lover) Bohuslav Martinů’s Fifth Quartet is full of passionate intensity. These two compositions are heard alongside Debussy’s alternately invigorating and dreamy Quartet, surely one of the greatest works in the medium.