S khiev
conducts Shostakovich 10»

Grand Auditorium

  • Tugan Sokhiev conducting an orchestra
    ©: Marc Brenner
  • Haochen Zhang standing in front of a wall
    ©: Sophie Zhai

What you'll hear and see

The music

  • Sergueï Prokofiev Concerto pour piano et orchestre N° 2
  • Claude Debussy Bis: La Fille aux cheveux de lin (Préludes. Premier livre N° 8)
  • Dmitri Chostakovitch Symphonie N° 10

The artists

  • Luxembourg Philharmonic
  • Tugan Sokhiev conducting
  • Haochen Zhang piano

II. Allegro

Enhance your experience

Artist talk

Clara Szu-Yu Lin and Eloi Fidalgo Fraga (Luxembourg Philharmonic Academy) in conversation with Matthew Studdert-Kennedy

About «résonances»

Two great 20th-century innovators in one concert!

Prokofiev’s Piano Concerto N° 2 is one of the most challenging in the repertoire and caused a scandal at its premiere due to its wild inventiveness. It is paired with Shostakovich’s dramatic Symphony N° 10 – allegedly a depiction of the terrors of Stalinist Russia. Come and hear the Luxembourg Philharmonic perform these works with brilliant young pianist Haochen Zhang and internationally renowned conductor Tugan Sokhiev.

This concert will be broadcast live on radio 100,7 and SR2.