Sir Simon
R ttle

«Brahms & Shostakovich»
Grand Auditorium

  • Sir Simon Rattle conducting the London Symphony Orchestra
    ©: Sébastien Grébille
  • Isabelle Faust in a dark suit, holidng her violin and smiling
    ©: Felix Broede

What you'll hear and see

The music

  • Johannes Brahms Violinkonzert
  • Nicola Matteis Bis: Passaggio rotto (Ayres for the violin)
  • Dmitri Chostakovitch Symphonie N° 4

The artists

  • London Symphony Orchestra
  • Sir Simon Rattle conducting
  • Isabelle Faust violin

I. Allegro nn troppo Sir Simon Rattle Conducts Brahms

Two titans of the symphonic repertoire.

Such is the focus of this second concert given by the London Symphony Orchestra and their former conductor, Sir Simon Rattle. Shostakovich’s mighty Symphony N° 4 (completed in 1936 but not premiered until 1961!) reflects his growing fears at developments in Russia under Stalin. By contrast, Brahms’s Violin Concerto – heard here with star soloist Isabelle Faust – is one of the composer’s sunniest compositions. Its finale, inspired by Hungarian gypsy music, is especially life-enhancing.


  • Cat. I 105 €
  • Cat. II 85 €
  • Cat. III 50 €
Under 31? Save on ticket price with
Kulturpass welcome


  • Date Friday 08.03.24
  • Time 19:30
  • Duration 120' with a break
  • Venue Grand Auditorium
  • Subscription Orchestres étoiles
How to get here

The art of conducting | Sir Simon Rattle

For this episode of “the art of conducting”, we sat down with Sir Simon Rattle, the music director of the London Symphony Orchestra. He talked to us about what the lockdown situation looked like for orchestras, the rehearsing & composing process of Ondřej Adámek’s piece “Where are you”, the collaboration between conductor & musicians and much more! Special thanks to the Hotel le Place d’Armes and it’s team for the warm welcome!