Jump to page content Skip to navigation
Orchestre Philharmonique du Luxembourg

Luxembourg Philharmonic

Gustavo Gimeno, Music Director

The Luxembourg Philharmonic was founded in 1933 as part of the broadcasting activities of Radio Luxembourg (RTL) and has been publicly administered since 1996. In 2005 it took up residence at the Philharmonie Luxembourg with which it forms one legal body since 2012. Its 99 musicians from some 20 nations are led by Gustavo Gimeno, who has held the post of Chief Conductor for the last nine seasons. His predecessors were Henri Pensis, Carl Melles, Louis de Froment, Leopold Hager (appointed honorary conductor in 2021), David Shallon, Bramwell Tovey and Emmanuel Krivine. The orchestra’s ample discography includes nine albums for the Pentatone and four for harmonia mundi France, the most recent of which features the Messa di Gloria and orchestral works by Giacomo Puccini. The orchestra’s musical partners during the 2023/24 season include Hélène Grimaud, William Christie and the Quatuor Ébène as artists in residence. After invitations to tour numerous countries, the orchestra will be touring this season in Spain, Scandinavia and Poland. The Luxembourg Philharmonic is subsidized by the Grand Duchy’s Ministry of Culture and supported financially by the City of Luxembourg. The orchestra is sponsored by the Banque de Luxembourg, BGL BNP Paribas and Mercedes-Benz. Since 2010 the cello «Le Luxembourgeois», built by Matteo Goffriller is at the orchestra’s disposal, thanks to generous support from BGL BNP Paribas. Since the 2022/23 season, one violin by Giuseppe Guarneri filius Andreae and one by Gennaro Gagliano are being played in the orchestra, generously on loan from the Rosemarie and Hartmut Schwiering Stiftung.